9 10, 2017

DNF Round Up

By | Monday, October 9, 2017|15 Comments

Well, its that time again. Time for me to tell you all about the books lately that didn’t make the cut. All of these books got DNF’d because I wasn’t enjoying the reading. It’s unfortunate, but it does happen. My apologies to the authors and publishers in advance.   DNF at 43% – […]

11 11, 2016

Review: DEAD GIRL’S SOCIETY by Michelle Krys

By | Friday, November 11, 2016|12 Comments

Review: DEAD GIRL’S SOCIETY by Michelle KrysDead Girls Society by Michelle Krys
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on November 8th 2016
Pages: 304
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Horror, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Social Themes, General
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

A girl accepts a mysterious invitation to play a deadly game in this suspense-filled thriller from the author of HEXED--perfect for fans of NERVE by Jeanne Ryan and Lauren Oliver's PANIC.

You are cordially invited to participate in a game of thrills and dares. Tell no one, and come alone. If you dare.

Hope is sick of everyone treating her like she’s breakable. Sure, she has cystic fibrosis (basically really bad lungs), but she’s tired of being babied by her mom and her overprotective best friend, Ethan, not to mention worrying about paying for her expensive medication and how she’s going to afford college.And she’s bored with life in her run-down New Orleans suburb.

When an invitation arrives from a mysterious group that calls itself the Society, Hope jumps at the chance for some excitement. This could be her ticket out. All she has to do is complete a few dares and she just might win some real money.

But the Society isn’t all that it seems . . . and soon Hope finds that playing the game isn’t a choice—it’s a requirement.

“Dark, twisty, and thrilling.” —Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of Dorothy Must Die 
 “A delicious and fast-paced read! This one kept me up way past my bedtime!” —Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’
From the Hardcover edition.

This was a fun thriller. I think this story was written at a great pace and had a cool concept. Some of it was really far fetched. I would sum this up as good, not great. First the good: I like Hope as a person. I love the idea of the society with […]

9 11, 2016

Review: AVENGED by E.E. Cooper

By | Wednesday, November 9, 2016|1 Comment

Review: AVENGED by E.E. CooperAvenged by E. E. Cooper
Series: Vanished #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on November 8th 2016
Pages: 352
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Thrillers & Suspense, Romance, General, Social Themes, Runaways
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an absorbing, psychological suspense story about friendship, deception, jealousy, and love, perfect for fans of the Pretty Little Liars series and We Were Liars.
Everyone believes Beth’s death was an accident, except for Kalah. The girl she loved was stolen from her, and now Kalah’s broken heart wants revenge. In order to crack Brit’s perfect alibi, Kalah pretends to be Brit’s best friend—with the sole mission to destroy her.
Kalah knows that playing Brit’s game is deadly. One wrong move could cost someone her life, including her own…but the more lies Kalah tells, the closer she is to the twisted truth.

I didn’t even realize this was a sequel. I mean, it seemed like there was a lot of questions for what happened to get these girls where they started. It still read like a good thriller. I am happy to report that I still enjoyed this book. So even though this isn’t a […]

10 10, 2016

Review: SPARE AND FOUND PARTS by Sarah Maria Griffin

By | Monday, October 10, 2016|14 Comments

Review: SPARE AND FOUND PARTS by Sarah Maria GriffinSpare and Found Parts by Sarah Maria Griffin
Published by Greenwillow Books on October 4th 2016
Pages: 416
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Social Themes, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Monsters, Thrillers & Suspense
ARC provided by BEA 2016, HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

Nell Crane has never held a boy’s hand. 
In a city devastated by an epidemic, where survivors are all missing parts—an arm, a leg, an eye—Nell has always been an outsider. Her father is the famed scientist who created the biomechanical limbs that everyone now uses. But she’s the only one with her machinery on the inside: her heart. Since the childhood operation, she has ticked. Like a clock, like a bomb. And as her community rebuilds, everyone is expected to contribute to the society’s good . . . but how can Nell live up to her father’s revolutionary ideas when she has none of her own? 
Then she finds a lost mannequin’s hand while salvaging on the beach, and inspiration strikes. Can Nell build her own companion in a world that fears advanced technology? The deeper she sinks into this plan, the more she learns about her city—and her father, who is hiding secret experiments of his own. 
Sarah Maria Griffin’s haunting literary debut will entrance fans of Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking series, Paolo Bacigalupi’s Ship Breaker, and Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven.

This story was about a girl who wants to build herself a robot companion. In the far off future computers and technology are all gone. After some sort of virus/sickness, all of the computers were destroyed or disconnected. Nell is being raised by her crazy father, the inventor of so many artificial parts […]

2 09, 2016

Review: THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES by Mindy McGinnis

By | Friday, September 2, 2016|23 Comments

Review: THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES by Mindy McGinnisThe Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis
Published by HarperCollins on September 20th 2016
Pages: 352
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Thrillers & Suspense, Social Themes, Violence, Law & Crime
Also by this author: Not a Drop to Drink, A Madness So Discreet, This Darkness Mine
ARC provided by BEA 2016, HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

Edgar Award–winning author Mindy McGinnis delivers a dark and riveting contemporary YA novel that blends the unflinching honesty of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak with the relentless pacing and alternating perspectives of Gone Girl. A stunning, unforgettable page-turner.
Alex Craft knows how to kill someone. And she doesn’t feel bad about it.
Three years ago, when her older sister, Anna, was murdered and the killer walked free, Alex uncaged the language she knows best—the language of violence. While her own crime goes unpunished, Alex knows she can’t be trusted among other people. Not with Jack, the star athlete who wants to really know her but still feels guilty over the role he played the night Anna’s body was discovered. And not with Peekay, the preacher’s kid with a defiant streak who befriends Alex while they volunteer at an animal shelter. Not anyone.
As their senior year unfolds, Alex’s darker nature breaks out, setting these three teens on a collision course that will change their lives forever.

  This was not what I expecting. THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES was so much better! I think the cover made me think this would be light, or funny, or immature. This book was none of those. This story is kinda dark, and intense. I found myself liking Alex right away. It is […]

9 08, 2016

Review: THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR by Katharine McGee

By | Tuesday, August 9, 2016|14 Comments

Review: THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR by Katharine McGeeThe Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee
Series: The Thousandth Floor #1
Published by HarperCollins on August 30th 2016
Pages: 448
Genres: Young Adult, Love & Romance, Social Themes, Adolescence, Girls & Women
ARC provided by BEA 2016, HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

New York City as you’ve never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Debut author Katharine McGee has created a breathtakingly original series filled with high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, where the impossible feels just within reach. But in this world, the higher you go, the farther there is to fall….

This story had my attention right away with it’s setting and the mystery of why a girl fell. This story is set in 2118 in a 1000 floor tower. Status declares how high up you live. Although everyone parties in the lower floors. A drug called xenperheidren is all the rage. This story […]

Load More Posts