2 09, 2016

Review: THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES by Mindy McGinnis

By | Friday, September 2, 2016|23 Comments

Review: THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES by Mindy McGinnisThe Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis
Published by HarperCollins on September 20th 2016
Pages: 352
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Thrillers & Suspense, Social Themes, Violence, Law & Crime
Also by this author: Not a Drop to Drink, A Madness So Discreet, This Darkness Mine
ARC provided by BEA 2016, HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

Edgar Award–winning author Mindy McGinnis delivers a dark and riveting contemporary YA novel that blends the unflinching honesty of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak with the relentless pacing and alternating perspectives of Gone Girl. A stunning, unforgettable page-turner.
Alex Craft knows how to kill someone. And she doesn’t feel bad about it.
Three years ago, when her older sister, Anna, was murdered and the killer walked free, Alex uncaged the language she knows best—the language of violence. While her own crime goes unpunished, Alex knows she can’t be trusted among other people. Not with Jack, the star athlete who wants to really know her but still feels guilty over the role he played the night Anna’s body was discovered. And not with Peekay, the preacher’s kid with a defiant streak who befriends Alex while they volunteer at an animal shelter. Not anyone.
As their senior year unfolds, Alex’s darker nature breaks out, setting these three teens on a collision course that will change their lives forever.

  This was not what I expecting. THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES was so much better! I think the cover made me think this would be light, or funny, or immature. This book was none of those. This story is kinda dark, and intense. I found myself liking Alex right away. It is […]

4 07, 2016

Review: THIS SAVAGE SONG by Victoria Schwab

By | Monday, July 4, 2016|25 Comments

Review: THIS SAVAGE SONG by Victoria SchwabThis Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
Series: Monsters of Verity #1
Published by HarperCollins on July 5th 2016
Pages: 464
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, General, Monsters, Law & Crime, Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.
Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

Verity is a city divided in half. The Sunai are the soul eaters, they can only kill bad people and they work closely with humans. August is one of just three Sunai in the city. His brother and sister, also Sunai, work to keep people safe in their half of the city. The […]

27 04, 2016

Review: NIGHT SPEED by Chris Howard

By | Wednesday, April 27, 2016|2 Comments

Review: NIGHT SPEED by Chris HowardNight Speed by Chris Howard
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on May 3rd 2016
Pages: 416
Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, Law & Crime, Social Themes
eARC provided by Katherine Tegen Books

AmazonBook Depository

An addictive new drug fuels superhuman strength and speed in this action-packed sci-fi thriller that will have fans of Scott Westerfeld and Marie Lu on the edge of their seats.
Only those young enough can survive tetra, a dangerous drug that creates a pulse-pounding rush of enormous strength and incredible speed. Seventeen-year-old Alana West has been trained to use tetra so she can pursue the young criminals who abuse its power—criminals like the one who nearly killed her kid brother.
On tetra, Alana is unstoppable—an explosive blur as she surges through New York City. But with the clock ticking down to her eighteenth birthday, Alana will soon be too old for the rush . . . when just one more dose will prove deadly.
Supported only by her steady handler, Tucker, Alana goes undercover, infiltrating an elite gang of breaknecks to stop their supply of the drug. But when Alana gets trapped on the wrong side of the law, she learns the breaknecks are not quite what they seem—especially Ethan, the boy who seems to see the truth inside her. With her dependency on tetra increasing, Alana must decide where her loyalties lie, before the rush ends. Forever.

This was such a fun book with a really cool concept. Now that I have had some time to process this book, I can see there were some flaws. I was so wrapped up in the story that I didn’t pay attention to any of them. You shouldn’t either. This was a very […]

7 08, 2015

BEAR WITNESS by Melissa Clark

By | Friday, August 7, 2015|6 Comments

BEAR WITNESS by Melissa Clark

BEAR WITNESS by Melissa ClarkBear Witness by Melissa Clark
Published by Sparkpress on April 7th 2015
Pages: 141
Genres: Fiction, General, Young Adult, Girls & Women, Law & Crime, Social Issues
Paperback provided by BookSparks

AmazonB&NAudibleBook Depository

What if you witnessed the kidnapping of your best friend? This is when life changed for 12-year old Paige Bellen. Just three years after her friend Robin s kidnapping and murder, Paige is expected to continue on with life as usual. Now, with her closest friend out of the country, a messy relationship with Robin s boyfriend, and a family that handles her with kid gloves, Paige isn t sure if she ll ever be able to move forward in life. "Bear Witness" explores the aftermath of a crime in a small community and what it means when tragedy colors the experience of being a young adult."

The book Bear Witness is an incredibly fast read. It is only 141 pages and I read it in one sitting. It only took me two-three hours of my life, and afterwards I felt like I had just been through a traumatic event. I felt like I needed a hug. Paige’s friend Robin […]

13 04, 2015

Review: ASK THE DARK by Henry Turner

By | Monday, April 13, 2015|4 Comments

Review: ASK THE DARK by Henry TurnerAsk the Dark by Henry Turner
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt on April 7th 2015
Pages: 256
Length: 6 hours, 39 minutes
Genres: Action & Adventure, Boys & Men, General, Law & Crime, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Young Adult
ARC provided by Clarion Books, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

AmazonB&NAudibleBook Depository

Ask the Dark will keep you up all night, and its flawed, real hero will haunt your day. I wish I’d written it.” —Michael Grant, New York Times best-selling author of Gone and BZRK

Billy Zeets has a story to tell.

About being a vandal and petty thief. About missing boys and an elusive killer.

And about what happens if a boy who breaks all the rules is the only person who can piece together the truth.

Gripping and powerful, this masterful debut novel comes to vivid life through the unique voice of a hero as unlikely as he is unforgettable.

Ask the Dark is absolutely remarkable. Readers will line up for this one.”—Michael Cart, past president of YALSA and ALAN

Billy is a 14 year old boy who is constantly in trouble. Ask the Dark is his retelling of the ways that he redeemed himself and his family for the whole town to see. This is Billy’s story. This story starts at the end. Billy is some sort of hero for what he […]

Load More Posts