5 10, 2017

Review: THE BEAUTIFUL ONES by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

By | Thursday, October 5, 2017|6 Comments

Last year around Halloween, I read Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s CERTAIN DARK THINGS. I really enjoyed that book and as soon as I saw she had another book coming out I had to grab it. THE BEAUTIFUL ONES is a completely different type of tale then the previous book but the writing style was just […]

2 06, 2017

Review: THE WOMEN IN THE CASTLE by Jessica Shattuck

By | Friday, June 2, 2017|6 Comments

I have read so many moving stories about WWII. Most of the ones I have read have been from the holocaust survivors perspective. THE WOMEN IN THE CASTLE is about the Germans who fought against Hitler both privately and publicly. This is also the story of people in places that believed in the […]

3 11, 2016

Blog Tour: A CRIMINAL MAGIC by Lee Kelly

By | Thursday, November 3, 2016|3 Comments

Blog Tour: A CRIMINAL MAGIC by Lee Kelly

Blog Tour: A CRIMINAL MAGIC by Lee KellyA Criminal Magic by Lee Kelly
Published by Saga Press on February 2nd 2016
Pages: 432
Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Historical, Alternative History
eARC provided by Xpresso Book Tours

AmazonBook Depository

In Lee Kelly’s newest fantasy novel, two young sorcerers experiment with magic and mobsters in 1920s Prohibition when a new elixir is created that turns their lives upside down.
Washington, DC, 1926. Sorcery opponents have succeeded in passing the 18th Amendment, but the Prohibition of magic has only invigorated the city’s underworld. Smuggling rings carry magic contraband in from the coast. Sorcerers cast illusions to aid mobsters’ crime sprees. Gangs have even established “magic havens,” secret venues where the public can lose themselves in immersive magic and consume a mind-bending, highly addictive elixir known as “the sorcerer’s shine.”
Joan Kendrick, a young sorcerer from the backwoods of Norfolk County, accepts an offer to work for DC’s most notorious crime syndicate, The Shaw Gang, when her family’s home is repossessed. Alex Danfrey, first-year Federal Prohibition Unit trainee with a complicated past and talents of his own, becomes tapped to go undercover and infiltrate the Shaws. When Joan meets Alex at the Shaws’ magic haven, she discovers a confidante in her fellow partner and he begins to fall under her spell. But when a new breed of the addictive sorcerer’s shine is created within the walls of the magic haven, Joan and Alex are forced to question their allegiances as they become pitted against one another in a dangerous, heady game of cat-and-mouse.

This is adult fantasy. A CRIMINAL MAGIC is such a fun story full of magic and danger. This story follows Joan and Alex in a world where magic is illegal. Whenever a sorcerer performs magic, that magic can be placed into water and it turns into Shine. Shine is a very addictive drug. […]

19 08, 2016

Review: KAROLINA’S TWINS by Ronald H. Balson

By | Friday, August 19, 2016|1 Comment

Review: KAROLINA’S TWINS by Ronald H. BalsonKarolina's Twins by Ronald H Balson
Series: Liam and Catherine #3
Published by Macmillan on September 6th 2016
Pages: 320
Genres: Fiction, Historical, Jewish
ARC provided by BEA 2016, St. Martin's Press

AmazonBook Depository

In the tradition of The Nightingale, Sarah's Key, and Lilac Girls, comes a saga inspired by true events of a Holocaust survivor’s quest to return to Poland and fulfill a promise, from Ronald H. Balson, author of the international bestseller Once We Were Brothers.

~~“Readers who crave more books like Balson’s Once We Were Brothers and Kristin Hannah’s bestselling The Nightingale will be enthralled by Karolina’s Twins.” —Booklist (starred review)~~

She made a promise in desperationNow it's time to keep it
Lena Woodward, elegant and poised, has lived a comfortable life among Chicago Society since she immigrated to the US and began a new life at the end of World War II. But now something has resurfaced that Lena cannot ignore: an unfulfilled promise she made long ago that can no longer stay buried.

Driven to renew the quest that still keeps her awake at night, Lena enlists the help of lawyer Catherine Lockhart and private investigator Liam Taggart. Behind Lena’s stoic facade are memories that will no longer be contained. She begins to recount a tale, harkening back to her harrowing past in Nazi-occupied Poland, of the bond she shared with her childhood friend Karolina. Karolina was vivacious and beautiful, athletic and charismatic, and Lena has cherished the memory of their friendship her whole life. But there is something about the story that is unfinished, questions that must be answered about what is true and what is not, and what Lena is willing to risk to uncover the past. Has the real story been hidden these many years? And if so, why?

Two girls, coming of age in a dangerous time, bearers of secrets that only they could share.

Just when you think there could not be anything new to ferret out from World War II comes Karolina's Twins, a spellbinding new novel by the bestselling author of Once We Were Brothers and Saving Sophie. In this richly woven tale of love, survival and resilience during some of the darkest hours, the unbreakable bond between girlhood friends will have consequences into the future and beyond.

KAROLINA’S TWINS is the third book in a series. It can be read as a stand alone, but the character’s investigating the story are featured in two other books. This story is mostly about Lena, and 89 year old widow. She comes into Liam’s private detective office, but she demands that his wife, […]

Load More Posts