15 11, 2016

Review: TIMEKEEPER by Tara Sim

By | Tuesday, November 15, 2016|12 Comments

Review: TIMEKEEPER by Tara SimTimekeeper by Tara Sim
Series: Timekeeper #1
Published by Skyhorse Publishing, Inc. on November 8th 2016
Pages: 424
Genres: Young Adult, Steampunk, LGBT, Fantasy & Magic
eARC provided by Skypony Press

AmazonBook Depository

Two o’clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.
It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.
But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

TIMEKEEPER was such a magical read. This story is about a 17 year old clock mechanic named Danny. He is a bit young, but he is also really talented. Three years ago, Danny’s father, also a clock mechanic, got caught in a town where time stopped. He hasn’t see him since. Two years […]

26 09, 2016

Review: EMPIRE OF STORMS by Sarah J. Maas

By | Monday, September 26, 2016|2 Comments

Review: EMPIRE OF STORMS by Sarah J. MaasEmpire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #5
Also in this series: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on September 6th 2016
Pages: 693
Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, Love & Romance, Fantasy & Magic
Also by this author: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows
Hardcover provided by My Wallet (purchased)

AmazonBook Depository

Kingdoms collide in Sarah J. Maas's epic fifth installment in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series.
The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't.
As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.
Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

What can I say about Empire of Storms other than it is the 693 page EPIC 5th book in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas? I have thoughts now that I am done reading this. The bottom line for those of you that don’t want all the fluff is that […]

25 09, 2016

Review: A SHADOW BRIGHT AND BURNING by Jessica Cluess

By | Sunday, September 25, 2016|15 Comments

Review: A SHADOW BRIGHT AND BURNING by Jessica CluessA Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess
Series: Kingdom on Fire #1
Published by Random House Children's Books on September 20th 2016
Pages: 416
Genres: Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
eARC provided by Random House

AmazonBook Depository

"Vivid characters, terrifying monsters, and world building as deep and dark as the ocean." --Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Red Queen   I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer in hundreds of years. The prophesied one. Or am I?
Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she's shocked when instead of being executed, she's invited to train as one of Her Majesty's royal sorcerers.
Thrust into the glamour of Victorian London, Henrietta is declared the chosen one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients, bloodthirsty demons terrorizing humanity. She also meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, handsome young men eager to test her power and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her.
But Henrietta Howel is not the chosen one. As she plays a dangerous game of deception, she discovers that the sorcerers have their own secrets to protect. With battle looming, what does it mean to not be the one? And how much will she risk to save the city--and the one she loves?   Exhilarating and gripping, Jessica Cluess's spellbinding fantasy introduces a powerful, unforgettably heroine, and a world filled with magic, romance, and betrayal. Hand to fans of Libba Bray, Sarah J. Maas, and Cassandra Clare.
"Cluess gamely turns the chosen-one trope upside down in this smashing dark fantasy." --Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
"Unputdownable. I loved the monsters, the magic, and the teen warriors who are their world's best hope! Jessica Cluess is an awesome storyteller!" --Tamora Pierce, New York Times bestselling author
"A fun, inventive fantasy. I totally have a book crush on Rook." --Sarah Rees Brennan, New York Times bestselling author
"Pure enchantment. I love how Cluess turned the 'chosen one' archetype on its head. With the emotional intensity of my favorite fantasy books, this is the kind of story that makes you forget yourself." --Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen
"A glorious, fast-paced romp of an adventure. Jessica Cluess has built her story out of my favorite ingredients: sorcery, demons, romance, and danger." --Kelly Link, author of Pretty Monsters
From the Hardcover edition.

This book was so fun! Jessica Cluess includes everything I love in a YA Fantasy in A SHADOW BRIGHT AND BURNING. Henrietta, (Nettie), is a teacher and a witch at a school for girls. Nettie just wants a safe life with her best friend Rook. When a sorcerer comes looking for a girl […]

9 09, 2016

Review and Giveaway: LABYRINTH LOST by Zoraida Córdova

By | Friday, September 9, 2016|8 Comments

Review and Giveaway: LABYRINTH LOST by Zoraida CórdovaLabyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova
Series: Brooklyn Brujas #1
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on September 1st 2016
Pages: 336
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, LGBT, Paranormal, Supernatural, Young Adult Fiction
ARC provided by BEA 2016, Sourcebooks Fire

AmazonBook Depository

"Enchanting and complex. Every page is filled with magic." --Danielle Paige, New York Times best-selling author of Dorothy Must Die
Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.
Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation...and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can't trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange marks on his skin.
The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland...
Praise for Labyrinth Lost:
"Zoraida Córdova's prose enchants from start to finish. Labyrinth Lost is pure magic." --Melissa Grey, author of The Girl at Midnight
"Magical and empowering, Labyrinth Lost is an incredible heroine's journey filled with mythos come to life; but at its heart, honors the importance of love and family." --Cindy Pon, author of Serpentine and Silver Phoenix
"A brilliant brown-girl-in-Brooklyn update on Alice in Wonderland and Dante's Inferno. Very creepy, very magical, very necessary."--Daniel Jose Older, author of Shadowshaper
"Labyrinth Lost is a magical story of love, family, and finding yourself. Enchanting from start to finish." --Amy Tintera, author of Ruined.

LABYRINTH LOST was such a fun story! First, I want to acknowledge a book with a bunch of diversity done right. There was a heroine not so sure of herself, a bad boy and a conflicting girl-crush all wrapped up in a fantastical adventure full of magic. This book had my attention right […]

30 08, 2016

Review: THREE DARK CROWNS by Kendare Blake

By | Tuesday, August 30, 2016|22 Comments

Review: THREE DARK CROWNS by Kendare BlakeThree Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
Series: Three Dark Crowns #1
Also in this series: One Dark Throne
Published by Harper Teen on September 22nd 2016
Pages: 416
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult Fiction, Royalty, Fantasy, General
Also by this author: One Dark Throne
ARC provided by BEA 2016, HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomach-ache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of beasts.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn't solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it's not just a game of win or lose . . . it's life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.
The last queen standing gets the crown.

Three Dark Crowns is a heart-stopping fantasy from Kendare Blake, acclaimed author of Anna Dressed in Blood.

THREE DARK CROWNS was deliciously dark! This story is about triplet sisters, all with a different power, raised separately by the houses that hone that power. On the year of their sixteenth birthday, these three will face off and have a year to kill each other. The one left alive will inherit the […]

Load More Posts