5 09, 2017

Review: THE END OF THE WORLD RUNNING CLUB by Adrian J. Walker

By | Tuesday, September 5, 2017|4 Comments

  THE END OF THE WORLD RUNNING CLUB is a book I have been interested in reading every since Heather at Random Redheaded Ramblings. Her review totally convinced me I had to read it. I am glad I got a chance to read and review this since Sourcebooks Landmark is re-releasing this in […]

25 07, 2016

Review: THE LAST ONE by Alexandra Oliva

By | Monday, July 25, 2016|4 Comments

Review: THE LAST ONE by Alexandra OlivaThe Last One by Alexandra Oliva
Published by Ballantine Books on July 12th 2016
Pages: 304
Genres: Fiction, Literary, Science Fiction, Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic, Thrillers, Suspense
eARC provided by Ballantine Books

AmazonBook Depository

For readers of Station Eleven and The Passage comes a dazzling and unsettling novel of psychological suspense. In Alexandra Oliva's thrilling fiction debut, survival is the name of the game, as the line blurs between reality TV and reality itself--and one woman's mind and body are pushed to the limit.

She wanted an adventure. She never imagined it would go this far.

It begins with a reality TV show.

Twelve contestants are sent into the woods to face challenges that will test the limits of endurance. While they are out there, something terrible happens--but how widespread is the destruction, and has it occurred naturally or is it man-made? Cut off from society, the contestants know nothing of it. When one of them--a young woman the show's producers call Zoo--stumbles across the devastation, she can imagine only that it is part of the game.

Alone and disoriented, Zoo is heavy with doubt regarding the life--and husband--she left behind, but she refuses to quit. Staggering countless miles across unfamiliar territory, Zoo must summon all of her survival skills--and learn new ones as she goes.

But as her emotional and physical reserves dwindle, she grasps that the real world might have been altered in terrifying ways--and her ability to parse the charade will either be her triumph or her undoing.

Sophisticated and provocative, The Last One is a novel that forces us to confront the role that media plays in our perception of what is real: how readily we cast our judgments, how easily we are manipulated.

Advance praise for The Last One
"The Last One seamlessly melds two of our contemporary obsessions--the threat of global catastrophe and the staged drama of reality TV--into a fiercely imagined tale of the human psyche under stress. This is an uncompromising, thought-provoking debut."--Justin Cronin
"Haunting, moving, and remarkable . . . Alexandra Oliva's debut novel is clever in its concept and gripping in its delivery. This propulsive book is for everyone who ever thought reality television signaled the end of the world."--Karen Joy Fowler

The premise for this story is so interesting to me. I love reality shows about surviving the wild. I think the people who compete in those shows are superstars. Seriously the amount of skill and knowledge needed to survive without modern conveniences is mind blowing. The protagonist in this story signs up for […]

21 03, 2016

Review: THE FIRE SERMON by Francesca Haig

By | Monday, March 21, 2016|6 Comments

Review: THE FIRE SERMON by Francesca HaigThe Fire Sermon by Francesca Haig
Series: The Fire Sermon #1
Also in this series: The Map of Bones (Fire Sermon, Book 2)
Published by Simon and Schuster on March 10th 2015
Pages: 384
Genres: Fiction, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, General, Science Fiction, Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic, Genetic Engineering, Dystopian
Also by this author: The Map of Bones (Fire Sermon, Book 2)
Hardcover provided by The Library

AmazonBook Depository

The Hunger Games meets Cormac McCarthy’s The Road in this richly imagined first novel in a new post-apocalyptic trilogy by award-winning poet Francesca Haig.

Four hundred years in the future, the Earth has turned primitive following a nuclear fire that has laid waste to civilization and nature. Though the radiation fallout has ended, for some unknowable reason every person is born with a twin. Of each pair, one is an Alpha—physically perfect in every way; and the other an Omega—burdened with deformity, small or large.

With the Council ruling an apartheid-like society, Omegas are branded and ostracized while the Alphas have gathered the world’s sparse resources for themselves. Though proclaiming their superiority, for all their effort Alphas cannot escape one harsh fact: Whenever one twin dies, so does the other.

Cass is a rare Omega, one burdened with psychic foresight. While her twin, Zach, gains power on the Alpha Council, she dares to dream the most dangerous dream of all: equality. For daring to envision a world in which Alphas and Omegas live side-by-side as equals, both the Council and the Resistance have her in their sights.

This story follows the synopsis pretty well. The Fire Sermon definitely has Cormac McCarthy’s The Road feel to it. In the far future, after a nuclear apocalypse, the survivors carry a genetic abnormality. Every baby is born a fraternal twin, one boy one girl. One twin is “normal” (Alpha), the other twin has a […]

10 08, 2015

THE CASUALTIES by Nick Holdstock

By | Monday, August 10, 2015|4 Comments

THE CASUALTIES by Nick HoldstockThe Casualties by Nick Holdstock
Published by St. Martin's Press on August 4th 2015
Pages: 288
Genres: Fiction, Literary, Science Fiction, Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
eARC provided by Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley

AmazonB&NAudible

In Nick Holdstock's The Casualties, a man recounts the final weeks of his neighborhood before the apocalyptic event that only a few of the eccentric residents will survive.

Samuel Clark likes secrets. He wants to know the hidden stories of the bizarre characters on the little streets of Edinburgh, Scotland. He wants to know about a nymphomaniac, a man who lives under a bridge, a girl with a cracked face. He wants to uncover their histories because he has secrets of his own. He believes, as people do, that he is able to change. He believes, as the whole world does, that there is plenty of time to solve his problems. But Samuel Clark and the rest of the world are wrong. Change and tragedy are going to scream into his and everyone's lives. It will be a great transformation, a radical change; and it just might be worth the cost.

Written by a rising literary star whose work has been published in notoriously selective publications such as n+1 and The Southern Review, The Casualties is an ambitious debut novel that explores how we see ourselves, our past and our possible futures. It asks the biggest question: How can we be saved?

The Casualties starts off so good. Right away, I thought the premise was interesting. The cast of characters is really unique. Somewhere along the way this book lost my interest, though. I can’t quite put my finger on what the big turn off was but I found myself caring less and less about […]

16 12, 2014

STATION ELEVEN by Emily St. John Mandel

By | Tuesday, December 16, 2014|1 Comment

STATION ELEVEN by Emily St. John MandelStation Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
Published by Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group on September 9th 2014
Pages: 352
Genres: Action & Adventure, Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic, Dystopian, Fiction, Literary, Science Fiction
Hardcover provided by Knopf Publishing Group

AmazonB&NAudible

An audacious, darkly glittering novel set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse, Station Eleven tells the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for art and humanity.

One snowy night Arthur Leander, a famous actor, has a heart attack onstage during a production of King Lear. Jeevan Chaudhary, a paparazzo-turned-EMT, is in the audience and leaps to his aid. A child actress named Kirsten Raymonde watches in horror as Jeevan performs CPR, pumping Arthur’s chest as the curtain drops, but Arthur is dead. That same night, as Jeevan walks home from the theater, a terrible flu begins to spread. Hospitals are flooded and Jeevan and his brother barricade themselves inside an apartment, watching out the window as cars clog the highways, gunshots ring out, and life disintegrates around them.

Fifteen years later, Kirsten is an actress with the Traveling Symphony. Together, this small troupe moves between the settlements of an altered world, performing Shakespeare and music for scattered communities of survivors. Written on their caravan, and tattooed on Kirsten’s arm is a line from Star Trek: “Because survival is insufficient.” But when they arrive in St. Deborah by the Water, they encounter a violent prophet who digs graves for anyone who dares to leave.

Spanning decades, moving back and forth in time, and vividly depicting life before and after the pandemic, this suspenseful, elegiac novel is rife with beauty. As Arthur falls in and out of love, as Jeevan watches the newscasters say their final good-byes, and as Kirsten finds herself caught in the crosshairs of the prophet, we see the strange twists of fate that connect them all. A novel of art, memory, and ambition, Station Eleven tells a story about the relationships that sustain us, the ephemeral nature of fame, and the beauty of the world as we know it.From the Hardcover edition.

In this timeless story of intertwined lives of those lost and loved, Station Eleven stands apart from everything I have read to date. It is the kind of book that I want to reread again, and again. It takes richly draw characters that speak smartly, a comic book in the middle of the […]

16 10, 2014

Paradigm by Ceri A. Lowe

By | Thursday, October 16, 2014|8 Comments

Paradigm by Ceri A. LoweParadigm by Ceri A. Lowe
Series: Paradigm #1
Published by Bookouture on June 13th 2014
Pages: 382
Genres: Action & Adventure, Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic, Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult
eARC provided by Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley

AmazonB&N

What if the end of the world was just the beginning?

Alice Davenport awakens from a fever to find her mother gone and the city she lives in ravaged by storms – with few survivors.When Alice is finally rescued, she is taken to a huge underground bunker owned by the mysterious Paradigm Industries. As the storms worsen, the hatches close.

87 years later, amidst the ruins of London, the survivors of the Storms have reinvented society. The Model maintains a perfect balance – with inhabitants routinely frozen until they are needed by the Industry.

Fifteen-year-old Carter Warren knows his time has come. Awoken from the catacombs as a contender for the role of Controller General, it is his destiny to succeed – where his parents failed.

But Carter soon discovers that the world has changed, in ways that make him begin to question everything that he believes in. As Carter is forced to fight for those he loves and even for his life, it seems that the key to the future lies in the secrets of the past...

This book is pretty amazing. An apocalyptic story about the beginning of the end and the end of the beginning. There is so much about Paradigm that made this enjoyable. The story was really original and the characters had such different viewpoints and strengths. This story shifts from one timeline to another, both […]

Load More Posts