Reading time 3 mins

This is a fan made book trailer by The YA Book Traveler. No one makes better trailers than her, in my opinion. Check out Sarah’s channel for more.

I went into this book completely blind. I mean, I knew it was a fantasy book that featured a girl, but looking at the cover could’ve told anyone that. I was so surprised with how much I enjoyed learning about the character of Mira. Mira is a girl with crippling anxiety and a touch of OCD in that she counts everything. She is in a place where her voice (speeches) mean so much to the people that she becomes the spokesperson of her realm. But she can only say what those in power tell her to.

Mira has a peace treaty named after her and people love her. They call her The Hope Bringer. When Mira discovers a secret about dragons being transported out of her realm, she ends up being thrown in ‘the pit’. The pit is a jail underground that usually means a death sentence. What she learns about herself and her fellow convicts rocks her world and free her of her obligation to those that who controlled her in her above-ground life.

Okay, admittedly my re-cap is pretty vague. There was so much more I want to tell you about this book and why you should read it. DRAGONS! Yes, and done well in world where they are necessary to appease the gods. They used to be fighting along side warriors to defend the realm, but the Mira Treaty makes owning them illegal. It also opens them up for trade to other realms. Of course, Mira is powerless in her prison. Or is she? Mira alone is the voice of the royal court so it’s up to her to say what the people need to hear. She is also one of the only people in this era that has actually owned a dragon and had some experience in their presence. This makes her so much more valuable to those in control in the pit and to those free in the realm above her.

This story jumps right in with Mira’s discovery of the shipping details of her beloved dragons. When she confronts those in power, she finds herself in a dark lonely prison cell surrounded by criminals. She forms a bond with the almost silent boy next door and the strong warrior girl in the cell across from her. Mira also has her neuroses to keep her company. Mira’s OCD and anxiety is well described and played out. I believed she struggled and I struggled right along with her. I also really enjoyed the descriptive details the author used to let me see Mira and her surroundings perfectly.

This story is told in alternate timelines which allows us to see Mira before, when she was dealing with bitch mother and handling dragons almost daily, and now, when she is in the pit. This story was full of surprises, from the love interest, to the dramatic finish. I never knew who to trust and like Mira I found myself mystified by the lights that kept the pit lit up during the day and pitch black at night. There is much more going on in this story besides the dragons, but they are such an amazing part of this story.

I really enjoyed this story and the ending left me wanting MORE. So I would definitely recommend this. The only thing I will admit is that the beginning is a bit confusing and may leave some readers quitting it early. It gets so much better though and that ending blew me away. I am anxiously awaiting the sequel.

My Rating


Review: BEFORE SHE IGNITES by Jodi MeadowsBefore She Ignites by Jodi Meadows
Series: Fallen Isles Trilogy #1
Published by HarperCollins on September 12th 2017
Pages: 496
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Epic, Romance, General, Action & Adventure, Survival Stories
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

“A fully realized fantasy world complete with dragons, treachery, and flawed characters discovering their courage. I couldn’t put it down!” —C. J. Redwine, New York Times bestselling author of The Shadow Queen
From the New York Times bestselling co-author of My Lady Jane comes a smoldering new fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Kristin Cashore about a girl condemned for defending dragons and the inner fire that may be her only chance of escape.
Mira has always been a symbol of hope for the Fallen Isles, perfect and beautiful—or at least that’s how she’s forced to appear. But when she uncovers a dangerous secret, Mira is betrayed by those closest to her and sentenced to the deadliest prison in the Fallen Isles.
Except Mira is over being a pawn. Fighting to survive against outer threats and inner demons of mental illness, Mira must find her inner fire and the scorching truth about her own endangered magic—before her very world collapses.
And that’s all before she ignites. 

About Jodi Meadows

Jodi Meadows wants to be a ferret when she grows up and she has no self-control when it comes to yarn, ink, or outer space. Still, she manages to write books. She is the author of the INCARNATE Trilogy, the ORPHAN QUEEN Duology, and the FALLEN ISLES Trilogy (HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen), and a coauthor of MY LADY JANE (HarperTeen).

I received this book free of charge in exchange for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links. This review is in compliance with the FTC guidelines.

Subscribe to never miss a post!
Awesome People Share. Be Awesome...