Reading time 2 mins


 

Well THIS DARKNESS MINE is another dark book by Mindy McGinnis. I am not sure how she does it, but each book seems to getting darker. This story explores the life of a Sasha Stone as she becomes something else. Something much darker than anyone thought possible.

Sasha Stone has her whole life planned out. She is on top of her class and the best clarinet player in her school. She is almost guaranteed a scholarship to Oberlin Conservatory. She is dating a boy who also has his life planned out. She is the apple of her parent’s eye and always does the right thing. When she meets a boy named Isaac she can’t deny her need for him. He is everything she isn’t. Maybe she owes her want to another. Maybe she owes her want and even her life to the twin she absorbed in the womb who wants to take back control of her flesh.

This story is perfectly told by an un-relateable narrator. Sasha is going through something. She looses her spot as first clarinet, her perfect boyfriend, her friend’s trust, and her health all at once. Although parts of this felt really far fetched I couldn’t help but follow Sasha down the rabbit hole as she tries to expose the reason her life is falling apart.

Enter her twin sister, and a well played excuse.

This story explores a girl who knows no limits to how far she will go. Sasha is a terrible girl. She is horrible to everyone and destroys her whole life to prove a point. She also toys with people around her, but she is so sly you won’t even realize she is doing it until it is done. I haven’t felt so conflicted about a character in a long time.

The writing style of this author always explores dark characters in bleak settings. THIS DARKNESS MINE is no exception. Sasha is a girl you might know, a person full of excuses and explanations that defy reality. Sasha believes she is right, and that is all that matters. The settings and side characters were well written and easy to imagine.

I enjoyed this story about an evil/mentally ill girl, but some of it was very far from believable. I am torn on how to rate this. On one hand it was original and dark and a very wild ride. On the other hand it was shocking, and not always in a good way. This story is about insanity. Follow Sasha down the rabbit hole and see what you make of it.

My Rating


Review: THIS DARKNESS MINE by Mindy McGinnisThis Darkness Mine by Mindy McGinnis
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on October 10th 2017
Pages: 384
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Thrillers & Suspense, Romance, Contemporary, Social Themes, Depression
Also by this author: The Female of the Species, Not a Drop to Drink, A Madness So Discreet
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonAudibleBook Depository

Mindy McGinnis, award-winning author of The Female of the Species and A Madness So Discreet, returns with a new dark and twisted psychological thriller—perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Fight Club.

Sasha Stone knows her place—first-chair clarinet, top of her class, and at the side of her Oxford-wearing boyfriend. She’s worked her entire life to ensure her path to Oberlin Conservatory as a star musician is perfectly paved. But suddenly there’s a fork in the road in the shape of Isaac Harver. Her body shifts toward him when he walks by, and her skin misses his touch even though she’s never known it. Why does he act like he knows her so well—too well—when she doesn’t know him at all?

Sasha discovers that her by-the-book life began by ending the chapter of another: the twin sister she absorbed in the womb. But that doesn’t explain the gaps of missing time in her practice schedule, or the memories she has of things she certainly never did with Isaac. Armed with the knowledge that her heart might not be hers alone, Sasha must decide what she’s willing to do—and who she’s willing to hurt—to take it back.

About Mindy McGinnis

Mindy McGinnis is a YA author who has worked in a high school library for thirteen years. Her debut, NOT A DROP TO DRINK, a post-apocalyptic survival story set in a world with very little freshwater, has been optioned for film my Stephanie Meyer's Fickle Fish Films. The companion novel, IN A HANDFUL OF DUST was released in 2014. Look for her Gothic historical thriller, A MADNESS SO DISCREET in October of 2015 from Katherine Tegen Books. Mindy is represented by Adriann Ranta of Wolf Literary.

I received this product free of charge in exchange for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links. This review is in compliance with the FTC guidelines.

Subscribe to never miss a post!
Awesome People Share. Be Awesome...