CROWN OF MIDNIGHT by Sarah J. MaasCrown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #2
Also in this series: Throne of Glass, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, Empire of Storms
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on August 27th 2013
Pages: 420
Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, Love & Romance, Fantasy & Magic
Also by this author: Throne of Glass, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, Empire of Storms
eBook provided by The Library

AmazonB&NAudibleBook Depository

She is the greatest assassin her world has ever known.But where will her conscience, and her heart, lead her?

After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king's contest to become the new royal assassin. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown - a secret she hides from even her most intimate confidantes.Keeping up the deadly charade--while pretending to do the king's bidding--will test her in frightening new ways, especially when she's given a task that could jeopardize everything she's come to care for. And there are far more dangerous forces gathering on the horizon -- forces that threaten to destroy her entire world, and will surely force Celaena to make a choice. Where do the assassin's loyalties lie, and who is she willing to fight for?

Reading time 4 mins

I didn’t think there was any way I could enjoy this more than the first book in the series, Throne of Glass. This author has created some exceptional fantasy characters and this book just gives us so much more to look forward to. Crown of Midnight gives us more information, we get more fight scenes, more magic, more romance, and more of the awesome world in the series.

This review contains spoilers for the first book in the series, Throne of Glass

This story starts with Celaena doing her job as the king’s champion by killing people the king orders her to. Calaena is even more bad-ass in this story. Celaena bests everyone she comes up against. In seeing her give the proof to the king of the killings, Chaol and Dorian realize they don’t know her as well as they thought. Is that fear I sense? Celaena has her secrets though. Everything she has worked for comes into jeopardy when she is tasked to kill a former friend for conspiring against the king. Celaena finds that a close friend is not being honest with her, but Celaena isn’t being completely open either. Celaena must find the out the truth about her mission by the Queen and who is really plotting against who in this awesome follow-up story.

I have to admit I expect a second book in any series to suck to a certain extent. I know that the fourth book in this series is about to come out, and I can see why readers are still in love with this series. No second book syndrome here, at all. Although this world has lost it’s magic, there is still some small bits to be found. In this book we go along with Celaena as she discovers why the magic is gone, and what can be done to restore it.

Let’s talk about the love triangle. Remember how Calaena ending things with Dorian at the end of Throne of Glass? Well, she picks things up with Chaol. So in case you were like me, and wondering about Chaol, we get all the answers here. These people are so damned loyal and even with matters of the heart, their loyalties come first. I have to admit I am still friggin torn. There are no clear answers here. I am so intregied with the way the author has spun this. Although love triangles are usually a big turn off, in this series the love triangle is part of the reason I will go on to read the next book. There must be a clear love interest by book 3, right?

The world building is even better in this book than the first book. This world is so mystical. We get that there used to be Fae, and then there is a magic called Wyrd with it’s own language and symbols, and the we find their are witches here as well. The castle and the throne of glass are full of secrets. I love that we got to explore along with Caleana and discover some of it’s secrets. Also, the magic! In a place with supposedly no magic, there is plenty of magic happening here and powerful creatures are all around.

So this book was pretty awesome. If you haven’t started this series, and you enjoy fantasy even a little bit, you are missing out. Please go and read it right now so we can chat about it. I got this book from my local library and the next in this series, Heir of Fire, is at my bedside just waiting for me to enjoy.

My Rating


Oh, I found this fun graphic on the Throne of Glass facebook page.


The Throne of Glass Series

About Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas is the author of the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling Throne of Glass series–Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, and Heir of Fire, and the series’ prequel, The Assassin’s Blade–as well as the New York Times and USA Today bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses. She wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in twenty-three languages. Queen of Shadows, the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series, will release worldwide on September 1st, 2015.
A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies.

This post contains affiliate links. This review is in compliance with the FTC guidelines.

Subscribe to never miss a post!
Awesome People Share. Be Awesome...