THRONE OF GLASS by Sarah J. MaasThrone of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #1
Also in this series: Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, Empire of Storms
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on May 7th 2013
Pages: 432
Length: 12 hours 47 minutes
Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, Love & Romance, Fantasy & Magic
Also by this author: Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, Empire of Storms

AmazonB&NAudibleBook Depository

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king's champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.
The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass--and it's there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena's fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

I have heard so much about this series. I might be a bit late to the party, but it is still going. Throne of Glass is the first book in the Throne of Glass series which is about six books in so far (including novellas). I enjoyed this book so much I know I will be reading the next one as soon as I get my hands on it!

Celaena Sardothien is serving time in the Salt Mines, also known as a death camp. After a year there, the Crown Prince of  Adarlan, Dorian, comes to ask her if she would enter into a challenge to be the King’s Champion (or personal assistant). She will earn her freedom if she agrees to be the champion for 4 years. Celaena just needs to fight for champion and win against 23 other would-be Champions. Celaena is a famous assassin, trained by the King of assassins, so victory for her is almost guaranteed. It might not be enough as something evil is set loose in the castle and it is killing off the champions. This land without magic needs a true hero to find it and eradicate it.

Celaena is a bad ass. She is only 17, but her training has allowed her to become one of the most feared assassins. She isn’t the only thing about this book that won me over, but this strong female protagonist is something to be admired. She is deadly and witty. She is beautiful and dangerous. Given her history, she isn’t allowed free reign during her trials for champion. She is taken from the mines to the Glass Throne, the place where the King and Dorian live, and she is guarded day and night by the Captain of the Royal Guard, a man named Chaol. Chaol is not only a top soldier but also a personal friend of the Crown Prince. Chaol and Celaena develop a really great friendship. There was more than one friendship here that left me feeling cared for. Calaena also befriends a princess who seems to have more in common with Caleana then she could imagine.

The relationship between the Chaol and Calaena versus Dorian and Calaena felt a bit off. I have to admit I wanted her to choose differently, but I guess I will have to keep reading the series to see if I get my wish. There is a great mystery in this book and plenty of suspense to make this a page turner. The world building is wonderful. I got a real sense of this world. The vast landscapes, the monuments to power, the desperation of the people, all are very clearly spelled out without giving everything away. The best part is that Celaena’s troubled past and possible betrayal are spelled out in prequel novellas.

I have nothing negative to say about this book. The author hit on everything I expect from an epic fantasy and even managed to tell me a lot without bogging me down with boring details of how the kingdom “worked”. The bottom line here is that this awesome epic was way hard to put down. I am willing to bet this story will be well received by both young and old fantasy lovers who enjoy a strong female protagonist. I am delighted to find that most of this series is already out and just waiting for me to enjoy. I will definitely be reading the rest of this series.

My Rating


The Throne of Glass Series

About Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas is the author of the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling Throne of Glass series–Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, and Heir of Fire, and the series’ prequel, The Assassin’s Blade–as well as the New York Times and USA Today bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses. She wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in twenty-three languages. Queen of Shadows, the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series, will release worldwide on September 1st, 2015.
A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies.

This post contains affiliate links. This review is in compliance with the FTC guidelines.

Awesome People Share. Be Awesome...
Get KBK in Your Inbox
Subscribe Now to receive your FREE Guide to Requesting ARCs and Publisher Contact List