11 07, 2016

Review: BABY DOLL by Hollie Overton

By | Monday, July 11, 2016|14 Comments

Review: BABY DOLL by Hollie OvertonBaby Doll by Hollie Overton
Published by Orbit, Redhook on July 12th 2016
Pages: 288
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Psychological, Suspense
ARC provided by BEA 2016, Redhook

AmazonBook Depository

"What a compulsive read! A brilliant first novel that kept me transfixed and entertained until the very last page." -- Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of Die Again
Escape was just the beginning. Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.This is what happens next... to Lily, to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter -- and to her captor.
For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, BABY DOLL is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

Lily was abducted when she was 16 by a prominent man in the community. He held her for 8 years, raped and abused her and fathered a child with her. One day he forgets to bolt the door and Lily escapes with her daughter. This is the story Lily getting back to her […]

10 06, 2016

Review: THE SUDDEN APPEARANCE OF HOPE by Claire North

By | Friday, June 10, 2016|6 Comments

Review: THE SUDDEN APPEARANCE OF HOPE by Claire NorthThe Sudden Appearance of Hope by Claire North
May 19th 2016
Pages: 480
Genres: Fiction, General, Thrillers, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Contemporary
ARC provided by BEA 2016, Little Brown Books

AmazonBook Depository

My name is Hope Arden. I am the girl the world forgets.
It started when I was sixteen years old.
A father forgetting to drive me to school. A mother setting the table for three, not four. A friend who looks at me and sees a stranger.
No matter what I do, the words I say, the crimes I commit - you will never remember who I am.
That makes my life tricky. It also makes me dangerous . . .
The Sudden Appearance of Hope is the tale of a girl no one remembers, yet her story will stay with you for ever.
Praise for Claire North:
'Just extraordinary' Claire Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go
'Beautiful and gripping' Guardian
'Little short of a masterpiece' Independent
'North's talent shines out' Sunday Times
'One of the fiction highlights of the decade' Judy Finnigan, Richard and Judy Book Club

This is was such a great read. Hope is the kind of character that will stay with me for a long time. Hope has a unique condition. People forget Hope almost as soon as she leaves the room. Her words and deeds can only be recorded electronically. It started when she was only […]

Load More Posts