21 11, 2016

Review: GLITTER by Aprilynne Pike

By | Monday, November 21, 2016|9 Comments

Review: GLITTER by Aprilynne PikeGlitter by Aprilynne Pike
Series: Glitter Duology #1
Published by Random House Children's Books on October 25th 2016
Pages: 384
Genres: JUVENILE FICTION, Action & Adventure, General, Girls & Women, Royalty, Young Adult Fiction
eARC provided by Random House Children's

AmazonBook Depository

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike comes a truly original new novel--Breaking Bad meets Marie Antoinette in a near-future world where the residents of Versailles live like it's the eighteenth century and an almost-queen turns to drug dealing to save her own life.  

Outside the palace of Versailles, it's modern day. Inside, the people dress, eat, and act like it's the eighteenth century--with the added bonus of technology to make court life lavish, privileged, and frivolous. The palace has every indulgence, but for one pretty young thing, it's about to become a very beautiful prison.

When Danica witnesses an act of murder by the young king, her mother makes a cruel power play . . . blackmailing the king into making Dani his queen. When she turns eighteen, Dani will marry the most ruthless and dangerous man of the court. She has six months to escape her terrifying destiny. Six months to raise enough money to disappear into the real world beyond the palace gates.

Her ticket out? Glitter. A drug so powerful that a tiny pinch mixed into a pot of rouge or lip gloss can make the wearer hopelessly addicted. Addicted to a drug Dani can sell for more money than she ever dreamed.

But in Versailles, secrets are impossible to keep. And the most dangerous secret--falling for a drug dealer outside the palace walls--is one risk she has to take.

I really enjoyed this book, but I didn’t know what to expect based on the cover. The Baroque society is really fascinating, so I can see the allure of living like that. In this modern day world, high society live like it’s the eighteenth century. The current King’s great-grandfather arranged the purchase of […]

31 10, 2016

Review: GEMINA by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

By | Monday, October 31, 2016|2 Comments

Review: GEMINA by Amie Kaufman and Jay KristoffGemina by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Series: The Illuminae Files #2
Also in this series: Illuminae
Published by Random House Children's Books on October 18th 2016
Pages: 672
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Action & Adventure, General, Fantasy, Romance
Also by this author: Illuminae
Hardcover provided by My Wallet (purchased)

AmazonBook Depository

Brace yourself for GEMINA—the highly anticipated sequel to the book critics called “out-of-this-world awesome,”featuring journal illustrations by bestselling author Marie Lu!   Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.     The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.      Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy's most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.      When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station's wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.     But relax. They've totally got this. They hope.     Once again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless.   Praise for Illuminae:   A New York Times Bestseller A PW Bestseller  “Out-of-this-world awesome.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred  “Stylistically mesmerizing.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred  “An arresting visual experience.” —Booklist, Starred  “A game-changer.” —Shelf Awareness, Starred
From the Hardcover edition.

Yup, this book is pretty amazing. I felt like it was better than Illuminae in some ways. It was one hell of a ride! The conspiracy continues in this story. Gemina tells the story of Hanna and Nik on the Jump Station Heimdall. Through detailed script footage, recorded chats, journal entries and AiDen […]

25 09, 2016

Review: A SHADOW BRIGHT AND BURNING by Jessica Cluess

By | Sunday, September 25, 2016|15 Comments

Review: A SHADOW BRIGHT AND BURNING by Jessica CluessA Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess
Series: Kingdom on Fire #1
Published by Random House Children's Books on September 20th 2016
Pages: 416
Genres: Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult
eARC provided by Random House

AmazonBook Depository

"Vivid characters, terrifying monsters, and world building as deep and dark as the ocean." --Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Red Queen   I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer in hundreds of years. The prophesied one. Or am I?
Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she's shocked when instead of being executed, she's invited to train as one of Her Majesty's royal sorcerers.
Thrust into the glamour of Victorian London, Henrietta is declared the chosen one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients, bloodthirsty demons terrorizing humanity. She also meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, handsome young men eager to test her power and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her.
But Henrietta Howel is not the chosen one. As she plays a dangerous game of deception, she discovers that the sorcerers have their own secrets to protect. With battle looming, what does it mean to not be the one? And how much will she risk to save the city--and the one she loves?   Exhilarating and gripping, Jessica Cluess's spellbinding fantasy introduces a powerful, unforgettably heroine, and a world filled with magic, romance, and betrayal. Hand to fans of Libba Bray, Sarah J. Maas, and Cassandra Clare.
"Cluess gamely turns the chosen-one trope upside down in this smashing dark fantasy." --Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
"Unputdownable. I loved the monsters, the magic, and the teen warriors who are their world's best hope! Jessica Cluess is an awesome storyteller!" --Tamora Pierce, New York Times bestselling author
"A fun, inventive fantasy. I totally have a book crush on Rook." --Sarah Rees Brennan, New York Times bestselling author
"Pure enchantment. I love how Cluess turned the 'chosen one' archetype on its head. With the emotional intensity of my favorite fantasy books, this is the kind of story that makes you forget yourself." --Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen
"A glorious, fast-paced romp of an adventure. Jessica Cluess has built her story out of my favorite ingredients: sorcery, demons, romance, and danger." --Kelly Link, author of Pretty Monsters
From the Hardcover edition.

This book was so fun! Jessica Cluess includes everything I love in a YA Fantasy in A SHADOW BRIGHT AND BURNING. Henrietta, (Nettie), is a teacher and a witch at a school for girls. Nettie just wants a safe life with her best friend Rook. When a sorcerer comes looking for a girl […]

24 07, 2015

EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING by Nicola Yoon

By | Friday, July 24, 2015|8 Comments

EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING by Nicola YoonEverything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
Published by Random House Children's Books on September 1st 2015
Pages: 240
Genres: Young Adult, Social Issues, New Experience, Friendship, Imagination & Play
eARC provided by Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley

AmazonB&NAudibleBook Depository

This innovative, heartfelt debut novel tells the story of a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world. When a new family moves in next door, she begins a complicated romance that challenges everything she’s ever known. The narrative unfolds via vignettes, diary entries, texts, charts, lists, illustrations, and more.

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He's tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.From the Hardcover edition.

How cute was this story? It was almost too perfect. I loved this YA romance. Everything, Everything was such a great story and the way the book was laid out made this such an easy read. I highly recommend this for readers young at heart. Madeline has been sick her entire life. She […]

10 02, 2015

SEEKER (Seeker #1) by Arwen Elys Dayton

By | Tuesday, February 10, 2015|7 Comments

SEEKER (Seeker #1) by Arwen Elys DaytonSeeker by Arwen Elys Dayton
Published by Random House Children's Books on February 10th 2015
Pages: 448
Genres: Action & Adventure, Friendship, General, Science Fiction, Social Issues, Young Adult
eARC provided by Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley

AmazonB&NAudible

Quin Kincaid has been put through years of brutal training for what she thinks is the noble purpose of becoming a revered ‘Seeker’.

Only when it’s too late does she discover she will be using her new-found knowledge and training to become an assassin. Quin's new role will take her around the globe, from a remote estate in Scotland to a bustling, futuristic Hong Kong where the past she thought she had escaped will finally catch up with her. (from goodreads)

Oh my! This book is hard for me to rate. The beginning was a little confusing and then it got really good. Then I got lost. There were too many details and too much world building. I have no idea where this series is going. Then the last few chapters everything really came […]

Load More Posts