13 06, 2017

Recent Reads -Women on the Edge: ALMOST MISSED YOU and A SIMPLE FAVOR

By | Tuesday, June 13, 2017|3 Comments

These two books are both written by debut authors and feature women in trouble. I would classify them both as mystery/thriller. Other than that, they aren’t really that similar. I liked one much more than the other. I love the idea of this book. ALMOST MISSED YOU is about second chances and what-ifs […]

21 12, 2016

Review: BEING MORTAL: Medicine and What Matters in the End by Atul Gawande

By | Wednesday, December 21, 2016|2 Comments

This book was right up my alley. It was recommended to me by a family while I worked in Hospice, since they had just read it and were changed by it. How to die is just as important as how we live the moments/days/years preceding our death. This book explores the real issues […]

16 11, 2016

Review: FLASHFALL by Jenny Moyer

By | Wednesday, November 16, 2016|7 Comments

Review: FLASHFALL by Jenny MoyerFlashfall by Jenny Moyer
Series: Flashfall #1
Published by Henry Holt on November 15th 2016
Pages: 352
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Action & Adventure, General, Science Fiction
eARC provided by Henry Holt and Company

Amazon

Orion is a Subpar, expected to mine the tunnels of Outpost Five, near the deadly flash curtain. For generations, her people have chased cirium—the only element that can shield humanity from the curtain’s radioactive particles. She and her caving partner Dram work the most treacherous tunnel, fighting past flash bats and tunnel gulls, in hopes of mining enough cirium to earn their way into the protected city.
But when newcomers arrive at Outpost Five, Orion uncovers disturbing revelations that make her question everything she thought she knew about life on both sides of the cirium shield. As conditions at the outpost grow increasingly dangerous, it’s up to Orion to forge a way past the flashfall, beyond all boundaries, beyond the world as she knows it.

This book was pretty amazing. FLASHFALL did for miners, what RED RISING did for Mars. It had the same gritty feeling and strife for people mining in fear. This book is an absolutely splendid read. I was on the edge of my seat completely absorbed in this original story about a world divided […]

7 11, 2016

Review: CERTAIN DARK THINGS by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

By | Monday, November 7, 2016|1 Comment

Review: CERTAIN DARK THINGS by Silvia Moreno-GarciaCertain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Published by Thomas Dunne Books on October 25th 2016
Pages: 336
Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Contemporary, Paranormal, Dark Fantasy, Literary, Romance
eARC provided by Thomas Dunne Books

AmazonBook Depository

Welcome to Mexico City... An Oasis In A Sea Of Vampires...
Domingo, a lonely garbage-collecting street kid, is busy eeking out a living when a jaded vampire on the run swoops into his life.
Atl, the descendant of Aztec blood drinkers, must feast on the young to survive and Domingo looks especially tasty. Smart, beautiful, and dangerous, Atl needs to escape to South America, far from the rival narco-vampire clan pursuing her. Domingo is smitten.
Her plan doesn’t include developing any real attachment to Domingo. Hell, the only living creature she loves is her trusty Doberman. Little by little, Atl finds herself warming up to the scrappy young man and his effervescent charm.
And then there’s Ana, a cop who suddenly finds herself following a trail of corpses and winds up smack in the middle of vampire gang rivalries.
Vampires, humans, cops, and gangsters collide in the dark streets of Mexico City. Do Atl and Domingo even stand a chance of making it out alive?

It has been a minute since I read a good vampire novel. CERTAIN DARK THINGS was an adult story about vampires. This story takes place in Mexico City, one of the many cities in the world that doesn’t allow vampires. There are many different species of vampires in this story. Atl is perhaps […]

28 09, 2016

Review: LAST SEEN LEAVING by Caleb Roehrig

By | Wednesday, September 28, 2016|10 Comments

Review: LAST SEEN LEAVING by Caleb RoehrigLast Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig
Published by Feiwel & Friends on October 4th 2016
Pages: 336
Genres: Contemporary, LGBT, Mystery, Young Adult
eARC provided by Macmillan

AmazonBook Depository

Flynn's girlfriend has disappeared. How can he uncover her secrets without revealing his own?

Flynn's girlfriend, January, is missing. The cops are asking questions he can't answer, and her friends are telling stories that don't add up. All eyes are on Flynn—as January's boyfriend, he must know something.

But Flynn has a secret of his own. And as he struggles to uncover the truth about January's disappearance, he must also face the truth about himself.

Oh this book! I am scratching my head that more people aren’t talking about it. It is so good! I admit it started off slow. In fact at first I didn’t think I liked the characters very much. I kept reading though and slowly I found myself thinking a lot about Flynn, wondering […]

26 08, 2016

Review: METALTOWN by Kristen Simmons

By | Friday, August 26, 2016|20 Comments

Review: METALTOWN by Kristen SimmonsMetaltown by Kristen Simmons
Published by Tor Teen on September 20th 2016
Pages: 384
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Dystopian, Science Fiction, General
ARC provided by BEA 2016, Macmillan

AmazonBook Depository

Kristen Simmons's Metaltown, where factories rule, food is scarce, and hope is in short supply.

The rules of Metaltown are simple: Work hard, keep your head down, and watch your back. You look out for number one, and no one knows that better than Ty. She’s been surviving on the factory line as long as she can remember. But now Ty has Colin. She’s no longer alone; it’s the two of them against the world. That’s something even a town this brutal can’t take away from her. Until it does.

Lena’s future depends on her family’s factory, a beast that demands a ruthless master, and Lena is prepared to be as ruthless as it takes if it means finally proving herself to her father. But when a chance encounter with Colin, a dreamer despite his circumstances, exposes Lena to the consequences of her actions, she’ll risk everything to do what’s right.
In Lena, Ty sees an heiress with a chip on her shoulder. Colin sees something more. In a world of disease and war, tragedy and betrayal, allies and enemies, all three of them must learn that challenging what they thought was true can change all the rules.

An enthralling story of friendship and rebellion, Metaltown will have you believing in the power of hope.

Colin and Ty are thick as thieves. They don’t have much choice being “small-parts” factory employees. The pay is crap, the work is horrible, and they work mandatory overtime all the time to keep up with quotas. Being residents of Metaltown, they are not alone in their poverty, but Small Parts is one […]

19 08, 2016

Review: KAROLINA’S TWINS by Ronald H. Balson

By | Friday, August 19, 2016|1 Comment

Review: KAROLINA’S TWINS by Ronald H. BalsonKarolina's Twins by Ronald H Balson
Series: Liam and Catherine #3
Published by Macmillan on September 6th 2016
Pages: 320
Genres: Fiction, Historical, Jewish
ARC provided by BEA 2016, St. Martin's Press

AmazonBook Depository

In the tradition of The Nightingale, Sarah's Key, and Lilac Girls, comes a saga inspired by true events of a Holocaust survivor’s quest to return to Poland and fulfill a promise, from Ronald H. Balson, author of the international bestseller Once We Were Brothers.

~~“Readers who crave more books like Balson’s Once We Were Brothers and Kristin Hannah’s bestselling The Nightingale will be enthralled by Karolina’s Twins.” —Booklist (starred review)~~

She made a promise in desperationNow it's time to keep it
Lena Woodward, elegant and poised, has lived a comfortable life among Chicago Society since she immigrated to the US and began a new life at the end of World War II. But now something has resurfaced that Lena cannot ignore: an unfulfilled promise she made long ago that can no longer stay buried.

Driven to renew the quest that still keeps her awake at night, Lena enlists the help of lawyer Catherine Lockhart and private investigator Liam Taggart. Behind Lena’s stoic facade are memories that will no longer be contained. She begins to recount a tale, harkening back to her harrowing past in Nazi-occupied Poland, of the bond she shared with her childhood friend Karolina. Karolina was vivacious and beautiful, athletic and charismatic, and Lena has cherished the memory of their friendship her whole life. But there is something about the story that is unfinished, questions that must be answered about what is true and what is not, and what Lena is willing to risk to uncover the past. Has the real story been hidden these many years? And if so, why?

Two girls, coming of age in a dangerous time, bearers of secrets that only they could share.

Just when you think there could not be anything new to ferret out from World War II comes Karolina's Twins, a spellbinding new novel by the bestselling author of Once We Were Brothers and Saving Sophie. In this richly woven tale of love, survival and resilience during some of the darkest hours, the unbreakable bond between girlhood friends will have consequences into the future and beyond.

KAROLINA’S TWINS is the third book in a series. It can be read as a stand alone, but the character’s investigating the story are featured in two other books. This story is mostly about Lena, and 89 year old widow. She comes into Liam’s private detective office, but she demands that his wife, […]

Load More Posts