11 11, 2016

Review: DEAD GIRL’S SOCIETY by Michelle Krys

By | Friday, November 11, 2016|12 Comments

Review: DEAD GIRL’S SOCIETY by Michelle KrysDead Girls Society by Michelle Krys
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on November 8th 2016
Pages: 304
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Horror, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Social Themes, General
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

A girl accepts a mysterious invitation to play a deadly game in this suspense-filled thriller from the author of HEXED--perfect for fans of NERVE by Jeanne Ryan and Lauren Oliver's PANIC.

You are cordially invited to participate in a game of thrills and dares. Tell no one, and come alone. If you dare.

Hope is sick of everyone treating her like she’s breakable. Sure, she has cystic fibrosis (basically really bad lungs), but she’s tired of being babied by her mom and her overprotective best friend, Ethan, not to mention worrying about paying for her expensive medication and how she’s going to afford college.And she’s bored with life in her run-down New Orleans suburb.

When an invitation arrives from a mysterious group that calls itself the Society, Hope jumps at the chance for some excitement. This could be her ticket out. All she has to do is complete a few dares and she just might win some real money.

But the Society isn’t all that it seems . . . and soon Hope finds that playing the game isn’t a choice—it’s a requirement.

“Dark, twisty, and thrilling.” —Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of Dorothy Must Die 
 “A delicious and fast-paced read! This one kept me up way past my bedtime!” —Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’
From the Hardcover edition.

This was a fun thriller. I think this story was written at a great pace and had a cool concept. Some of it was really far fetched. I would sum this up as good, not great. First the good: I like Hope as a person. I love the idea of the society with […]

9 11, 2016

Review: AVENGED by E.E. Cooper

By | Wednesday, November 9, 2016|1 Comment

Review: AVENGED by E.E. CooperAvenged by E. E. Cooper
Series: Vanished #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on November 8th 2016
Pages: 352
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Thrillers & Suspense, Romance, General, Social Themes, Runaways
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an absorbing, psychological suspense story about friendship, deception, jealousy, and love, perfect for fans of the Pretty Little Liars series and We Were Liars.
Everyone believes Beth’s death was an accident, except for Kalah. The girl she loved was stolen from her, and now Kalah’s broken heart wants revenge. In order to crack Brit’s perfect alibi, Kalah pretends to be Brit’s best friend—with the sole mission to destroy her.
Kalah knows that playing Brit’s game is deadly. One wrong move could cost someone her life, including her own…but the more lies Kalah tells, the closer she is to the twisted truth.

I didn’t even realize this was a sequel. I mean, it seemed like there was a lot of questions for what happened to get these girls where they started. It still read like a good thriller. I am happy to report that I still enjoyed this book. So even though this isn’t a […]

2 09, 2016

Review: THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES by Mindy McGinnis

By | Friday, September 2, 2016|23 Comments

Review: THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES by Mindy McGinnisThe Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis
Published by HarperCollins on September 20th 2016
Pages: 352
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Thrillers & Suspense, Social Themes, Violence, Law & Crime
Also by this author: Not a Drop to Drink, A Madness So Discreet
ARC provided by BEA 2016, HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

Edgar Award–winning author Mindy McGinnis delivers a dark and riveting contemporary YA novel that blends the unflinching honesty of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak with the relentless pacing and alternating perspectives of Gone Girl. A stunning, unforgettable page-turner.
Alex Craft knows how to kill someone. And she doesn’t feel bad about it.
Three years ago, when her older sister, Anna, was murdered and the killer walked free, Alex uncaged the language she knows best—the language of violence. While her own crime goes unpunished, Alex knows she can’t be trusted among other people. Not with Jack, the star athlete who wants to really know her but still feels guilty over the role he played the night Anna’s body was discovered. And not with Peekay, the preacher’s kid with a defiant streak who befriends Alex while they volunteer at an animal shelter. Not anyone.
As their senior year unfolds, Alex’s darker nature breaks out, setting these three teens on a collision course that will change their lives forever.

  This was not what I expecting. THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES was so much better! I think the cover made me think this would be light, or funny, or immature. This book was none of those. This story is kinda dark, and intense. I found myself liking Alex right away. It is […]

6 05, 2016

Review: UNFORGIVABLE by Amy Reed

By | Friday, May 6, 2016|4 Comments

Review: UNFORGIVABLE by Amy ReedUnforgivable by Amy Reed
Series: Invincible #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on May 3rd 2016
Pages: 272
Genres: Young Adult, Love & Romance, Social Themes, Death & Dying, Social Issues
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

In this raw, gut-wrenching, and beautifully written sequel to Invincible, Marcus continues Evie’s story of their intense romance, a stunning conclusion to this contemporary duology perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and Sara Zarr.
Marcus knows pain. The kind that swallows you like a black hole. His brother committed suicide, his mother left him, and his dad ignores him inside their cavernous house. Relief seems to come only from drugs, alcohol, and secret acts of self-destruction.
Until he met Evie. Together, they lived in the moment. They fell in love—hard—creating their own beautiful world. But they each had their own secrets, their own pain.
Unforgivable takes off where Invincible ended—with Evie drowning in San Francisco Bay. Marcus finds her just in time, but her survival is not the happy ending he was hoping for. Forbidden from seeing Evie by her parents and unable to reach her, Marcus learns of a pain that might break him completely.
The pain of losing Evie becomes tangled with the loss of his mother and brother, and he must face the ghosts he has been trying so desperately to outrun, or risk losing Evie forever.

I have to admit right away that I didn’t read Invincible. The real issue now is “did I feel like I missed anything by not reading it?” Nope. I caught everything I needed to enjoy this story as a stand-alone. I am not even going to try and re-cap this story. Every detail […]

27 04, 2016

Review: NIGHT SPEED by Chris Howard

By | Wednesday, April 27, 2016|2 Comments

Review: NIGHT SPEED by Chris HowardNight Speed by Chris Howard
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on May 3rd 2016
Pages: 416
Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, Law & Crime, Social Themes
eARC provided by Katherine Tegen Books

AmazonBook Depository

An addictive new drug fuels superhuman strength and speed in this action-packed sci-fi thriller that will have fans of Scott Westerfeld and Marie Lu on the edge of their seats.
Only those young enough can survive tetra, a dangerous drug that creates a pulse-pounding rush of enormous strength and incredible speed. Seventeen-year-old Alana West has been trained to use tetra so she can pursue the young criminals who abuse its power—criminals like the one who nearly killed her kid brother.
On tetra, Alana is unstoppable—an explosive blur as she surges through New York City. But with the clock ticking down to her eighteenth birthday, Alana will soon be too old for the rush . . . when just one more dose will prove deadly.
Supported only by her steady handler, Tucker, Alana goes undercover, infiltrating an elite gang of breaknecks to stop their supply of the drug. But when Alana gets trapped on the wrong side of the law, she learns the breaknecks are not quite what they seem—especially Ethan, the boy who seems to see the truth inside her. With her dependency on tetra increasing, Alana must decide where her loyalties lie, before the rush ends. Forever.

This was such a fun book with a really cool concept. Now that I have had some time to process this book, I can see there were some flaws. I was so wrapped up in the story that I didn’t pay attention to any of them. You shouldn’t either. This was a very […]

12 11, 2014

RUSH (The Game #1) by Eve Silver -Review

By | Wednesday, November 12, 2014|10 Comments

RUSH (The Game #1) by Eve Silver -ReviewRush by Eve Silver
Series: The Game #1
Published by HarperCollins, Katherine Tegen Books on June 11th 2013
Pages: 384
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Paperback provided by YA Bound Book Tours

AmazonB&NAudible

So what’s the game now? This, or the life I used to know?

When Miki Jones is pulled from her life, pulled through time and space into some kind of game—her carefully controlled life spirals into chaos. In the game, she and a team of other teens are sent on missions to eliminate the Drau, terrifying and beautiful alien creatures. There are no practice runs, no training, and no way out. Miki has only the guidance of secretive but maddeningly attractive team leader Jackson Tate, who says the game isn’t really a game, that what Miki and her new teammates do now determines their survival, and the survival of every other person on this planet. She laughs. He doesn’t. And then the game takes a deadly and terrifying turn.

My Review Rush is a book like nothing else I have read. At first, I was like no way! The premise isn’t anything I would believe. It is a fantasy, like any other fiction. This book just takes this idea and runs off with it. Once I bought into it, I couldn’t shake […]

Load More Posts