30 05, 2016

Review: PLEASE DON’T TELL by Laura Tims

By | Monday, May 30, 2016|3 Comments

Review: PLEASE DON’T TELL by Laura TimsPlease Don't Tell by Laura Tims
Published by HarperTeen on May 24th 2016
Pages: 336
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Romance, General, Family, Siblings, Young Adult, Love & Romance
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

Debut author Laura Tims writes an intense and utterly gripping contemporary YA tale perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars. Joy has done everything to protect her twin sister...including murder.
Joy killed Adam Gordon for what he did to her sister, Grace. At least, that’s what she thinks happened. Now Adam can’t hurt anyone ever again, and her sister can be free from the boy who harmed her.
But someone else knows what Joy did, and they’re going to out her as a cold-blooded killer if she doesn’t expose the scandalous secrets bubbling just below the surface of her mundane town. As the demands escalate, and she finds herself falling for Adam’s half brother, Joy must figure out the blackmailer’s identity before everything spirals out of control.

Oh no! Please do not believe the Goodreads rating for Please Don’t Tell. It is so good. I practically read it in one sitting. This story follows twins Grace and Joy. Joy and Grace aren’t really honest with each other anymore since last summer when Grace tried to break out of her shell […]

22 04, 2016

Review: RUINED by Amy Tintera

By | Friday, April 22, 2016|7 Comments

Review: RUINED by Amy TinteraRuined by Amy Tintera
Series: Ruined #1
Also in this series: Avenged
Published by HarperTeen on May 3rd 2016
Pages: 368
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Royalty
Also by this author: Avenged
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

Amy Tintera’s new YA fantasy trilogy blends the romance of Kiera Cass’s Selection series and the epic stakes of Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen in a story of revenge, adventure, and unexpected love.
Emelina Flores has nothing. Her home in Ruina has been ravaged by war; her parents were killed and her sister was kidnapped. Even though Em is only a useless Ruined—completely lacking any magic—she is determined to get revenge.
Her plan is simple: She will infiltrate the enemy’s kingdom, posing as the crown prince’s betrothed. She will lead an ambush. She will kill the king and everything he holds dear, including his son. 
The closer Em gets to the prince, though, the more she questions her mission. Her rage-filled heart begins to soften. But with her life—and her family—on the line, love could be Em’s deadliest mistake.

This book is such good fun! Our main character, Em, was born Ruined royalty in the Ruina kingdom. All the Ruined have marks on their bodies and powers, except Em. In order to not be completely useless, Em trained to fight since the time she was little. She isn’t in line for the […]

22 06, 2015

PAPERWEIGHT by Meg Haston

By | Monday, June 22, 2015|9 Comments

PAPERWEIGHT by Meg HastonPaperweight by Meg Haston
Published by HarperTeen on July 7th 2015
Pages: 304
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, PSYCHOLOGY, Young Adult
eARC provided by Copy provided by publisher via Edelweiss

AmazonB&NAudibleBook Depository

Seventeen-year-old Stevie is trapped. In her life. In her body. And now in an eating-disorder treatment center on the dusty outskirts of the New Mexico desert.
Life in the center is regimented and intrusive, a nightmare come true. Nurses and therapists watch Stevie at mealtime, accompany her to the bathroom, and challenge her to eat the foods she’s worked so hard to avoid.
Her dad has signed her up for sixty days of treatment. But what no one knows is that Stevie doesn't plan to stay that long. There are only twenty-seven days until the anniversary of her brother Josh’s death—the death she caused. And if Stevie gets her way, there are only twenty-seven days until she too will end her life.
In this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut, Meg Haston delves into the devastating impact of trauma and loss, while posing the question: Why are some consumed by their illness while others embark on a path toward recovery?

This was such a touching story. Paperweight follows a girl through her stay at a treatment center for her anorexia/bulimia. She is so lost, her story was very hard to put down. Stevie is planning to kill herself. Her anorexia/bulemia has a purpose. She wants to die on the anniversary of her brother’s […]

Load More Posts