11 07, 2016

Review: BABY DOLL by Hollie Overton

By | Monday, July 11, 2016|14 Comments

Review: BABY DOLL by Hollie OvertonBaby Doll by Hollie Overton
Published by Orbit, Redhook on July 12th 2016
Pages: 288
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Psychological, Suspense
ARC provided by BEA 2016, Redhook

AmazonBook Depository

"What a compulsive read! A brilliant first novel that kept me transfixed and entertained until the very last page." -- Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of Die Again
Escape was just the beginning. Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.This is what happens next... to Lily, to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter -- and to her captor.
For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, BABY DOLL is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

Lily was abducted when she was 16 by a prominent man in the community. He held her for 8 years, raped and abused her and fathered a child with her. One day he forgets to bolt the door and Lily escapes with her daughter. This is the story Lily getting back to her […]

22 06, 2016

Review: BEFORE THE FALL by Noah Hawley

By | Wednesday, June 22, 2016|4 Comments

Review: BEFORE THE FALL by Noah HawleyBefore the Fall by Noah Hawley
Published by Grand Central Publishing on May 31st 2016
Pages: 400
Genres: Fiction, Literary, Thrillers, Suspense
eARC provided by Grand Central Publishing

AmazonBook Depository

From the Emmy, PEN, Peabody, Critics' Choice, and Golden Globe Award-winning creator of the TV show Fargo comes the thriller of the year.

On a foggy summer night, eleven people--ten privileged, one down-on-his-luck painter--depart Martha's Vineyard on a private jet headed for New York. Sixteen minutes later, the unthinkable happens: the plane plunges into the ocean. The only survivors are Scott Burroughs--the painter--and a four-year-old boy, who is now the last remaining member of an immensely wealthy and powerful media mogul's family.

With chapters weaving between the aftermath of the crash and the backstories of the passengers and crew members--including a Wall Street titan and his wife, a Texan-born party boy just in from London, a young woman questioning her path in life, and a career pilot--the mystery surrounding the tragedy heightens. As the passengers' intrigues unravel, odd coincidences point to a conspiracy. Was it merely by dumb chance that so many influential people perished? Or was something far more sinister at work? Events soon threaten to spiral out of control in an escalating storm of media outrage and accusations. And while Scott struggles to cope with fame that borders on notoriety, the authorities scramble to salvage the truth from the wreckage.

Amid pulse-quickening suspense, the fragile relationship between Scott and the young boy glows at the heart of this stunning novel, raising questions of fate, human nature, and the inextricable ties that bind us together.

Oh how I enjoyed this story! It is about a guy who survives a private plane crash, but it is also so much more. It is about how a little things can mean so much. Scott Burrough is a painter, and the only adult to survive the crash. Two children also go down […]

10 06, 2016

Review: THE SUDDEN APPEARANCE OF HOPE by Claire North

By | Friday, June 10, 2016|6 Comments

Review: THE SUDDEN APPEARANCE OF HOPE by Claire NorthThe Sudden Appearance of Hope by Claire North
May 19th 2016
Pages: 480
Genres: Fiction, General, Thrillers, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Contemporary
ARC provided by BEA 2016, Little Brown Books

AmazonBook Depository

My name is Hope Arden. I am the girl the world forgets.
It started when I was sixteen years old.
A father forgetting to drive me to school. A mother setting the table for three, not four. A friend who looks at me and sees a stranger.
No matter what I do, the words I say, the crimes I commit - you will never remember who I am.
That makes my life tricky. It also makes me dangerous . . .
The Sudden Appearance of Hope is the tale of a girl no one remembers, yet her story will stay with you for ever.
Praise for Claire North:
'Just extraordinary' Claire Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go
'Beautiful and gripping' Guardian
'Little short of a masterpiece' Independent
'North's talent shines out' Sunday Times
'One of the fiction highlights of the decade' Judy Finnigan, Richard and Judy Book Club

This is was such a great read. Hope is the kind of character that will stay with me for a long time. Hope has a unique condition. People forget Hope almost as soon as she leaves the room. Her words and deeds can only be recorded electronically. It started when she was only […]

28 03, 2016

Recent DNFs

By | Monday, March 28, 2016|11 Comments

I really HATE writing this post. Part of the reason I started reviewing things was to put my honest opinion out there. So, unfortunately, bad reviews are a thing that needs to be done. I DNF (did not finish) a book when I can’t take it anymore. These books put me into a […]

18 09, 2015

Review: THE THING ABOUT JELLYFISH by Ali Benjamin

By | Friday, September 18, 2015|6 Comments

The Thing About Jellyfish took me completely by surprise and right out of my reading rut. I learned a few things and cried without even realizing it. Suzy’s actions were a surprisingly intelligent reaction to a really sad situation. This was such an easy read, I pretty much read it in one day. […]

19 08, 2015

VILLA AMERICA by Liza Klaussmann

By | Wednesday, August 19, 2015|4 Comments

VILLA AMERICA by Liza KlaussmannVilla America by Liza Klaussmann
August 4th 2015
Pages: 432
Genres: Fiction, Historical, Biographical, Family Life, Literary
ARC provided by Hatchette Books, Little Brown Books

AmazonB&NAudibleBook Depository

A dazzling novel set in the French Riviera based on the real-life inspirations for F. Scott Fitzgerald's Tender is The Night.

When Sara Wiborg and Gerald Murphy met and married, they set forth to create a beautiful world together-one that they couldn't find within the confines of society life in New York City. They packed up their children and moved to the South of France, where they immediately fell in with a group of expats, including Hemingway, Picasso, and Zelda and Scott Fitzgerald.

On the coast of Antibes they built Villa America, a fragrant paradise where they invented summer on the Riviera for a group of bohemian artists and writers who became deeply entwined in each other's affairs. There, in their oasis by the sea, the Murphys regaled their guests and their children with flamboyant beach parties, fiery debates over the newest ideas, and dinners beneath the stars.

It was, for a while, a charmed life, but these were people who kept secrets, and who beneath the sparkling veneer were heartbreakingly human. When a tragic accident brings Owen, a young American aviator who fought in the Great War, to the south of France, he finds himself drawn into this flamboyant circle, and the Murphys find their world irrevocably, unexpectedly transformed.

A handsome, private man, Owen intrigues and unsettles the Murphys, testing the strength of their union and encouraging a hidden side of Gerald to emerge. Suddenly a life in which everything has been considered and exquisitely planned becomes volatile, its safeties breached, the stakes incalculably high. Nothing will remain as it once was.

Liza Klaussman expertly evokes the 1920s cultural scene of the so-called "Lost Generation." Ravishing and affecting, and written with infinite tenderness, VILLA AMERICA is at once the poignant story of a marriage and of a golden age that could not last.

Villa America is a book based on the real characters of Tender is the Night by Scott Fitzgerald. In fact, everyone in this book is based on actual history, except for the pilot Owen. I so wish I had known this before I picked it up. (yea, I just skimmed the summary before […]

5 08, 2015

AFTER THE RED RAIN by Barry Lyga

By | Wednesday, August 5, 2015|3 Comments

AFTER THE RED RAIN by Barry LygaAfter the Red Rain by Barry Lyga, Robert DeFranco
August 4th 2015
Pages: 400
Genres: Young Adult, Social Issues, Dating & Sex, Dystopian, Action & Adventure, General, Love & Romance
eARC provided by Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley

AmazonB&NAudibleBook Depository

A postapocalyptic novel with a cinematic twist from New York Times bestseller Barry Lyga, actor Peter Facinelli, and producer Robert DeFranco.

On the ruined planet Earth, where 50 billion people are confined to megacities and resources are scarce, Deedra has been handed a bleak and mundane existence by the Magistrate she works so hard for. But one day she comes across a beautiful boy named Rose struggling to cross the river--a boy with a secretive past and special abilities, who is somehow able to find comfort and life from their dying planet.

But just as the two form a bond, it is quickly torn apart after the Magistrate's son is murdered and Rose becomes the prime suspect. Little do Deedra and Rose know how much their relationship will affect the fate of everyone who lives on the planet.

"A fast-paced, nail-biting, action-packed must-read with a compelling commentary on the consequences of overpopulation." -Emily Giffin #1 New York Times bestselling author of Something Borrowed and The One & Only"Stunning ... like a future-shock movie playing in your head."-Lee Child, author of the Jack Reacher series

This book was pretty interesting right from the start. After the Red Rain tells the story of boy meets girl in a world beyond hope. It also exploits the idea that it is amazing what you can get used to. Deedra Ward’s life is pretty bleak. As an orphan, she has only had […]

Load More Posts