10 10, 2016

Review: SPARE AND FOUND PARTS by Sarah Maria Griffin

By | Monday, October 10, 2016|14 Comments

Review: SPARE AND FOUND PARTS by Sarah Maria GriffinSpare and Found Parts by Sarah Maria Griffin
Published by Greenwillow Books on October 4th 2016
Pages: 416
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Social Themes, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Monsters, Thrillers & Suspense
ARC provided by BEA 2016, HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

Nell Crane has never held a boy’s hand. 
In a city devastated by an epidemic, where survivors are all missing parts—an arm, a leg, an eye—Nell has always been an outsider. Her father is the famed scientist who created the biomechanical limbs that everyone now uses. But she’s the only one with her machinery on the inside: her heart. Since the childhood operation, she has ticked. Like a clock, like a bomb. And as her community rebuilds, everyone is expected to contribute to the society’s good . . . but how can Nell live up to her father’s revolutionary ideas when she has none of her own? 
Then she finds a lost mannequin’s hand while salvaging on the beach, and inspiration strikes. Can Nell build her own companion in a world that fears advanced technology? The deeper she sinks into this plan, the more she learns about her city—and her father, who is hiding secret experiments of his own. 
Sarah Maria Griffin’s haunting literary debut will entrance fans of Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking series, Paolo Bacigalupi’s Ship Breaker, and Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven.

This story was about a girl who wants to build herself a robot companion. In the far off future computers and technology are all gone. After some sort of virus/sickness, all of the computers were destroyed or disconnected. Nell is being raised by her crazy father, the inventor of so many artificial parts […]

4 07, 2016

Review: THIS SAVAGE SONG by Victoria Schwab

By | Monday, July 4, 2016|25 Comments

Review: THIS SAVAGE SONG by Victoria SchwabThis Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
Series: Monsters of Verity #1
Published by HarperCollins on July 5th 2016
Pages: 464
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, General, Monsters, Law & Crime, Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.
Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

Verity is a city divided in half. The Sunai are the soul eaters, they can only kill bad people and they work closely with humans. August is one of just three Sunai in the city. His brother and sister, also Sunai, work to keep people safe in their half of the city. The […]

18 03, 2016

Review and Giveaway: A DROP OF NIGHT by Stefan Bachmann

By | Friday, March 18, 2016|14 Comments

Review and Giveaway: A DROP OF NIGHT by Stefan Bachmann

Review and Giveaway: A DROP OF NIGHT by Stefan BachmannA Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann
Published by HarperCollins on March 15th 2016
Pages: 464
Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, Fantasy & Magic, Horror
Hardcover provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

Modern-day teenagers meet a palace of terrors locked up since the French Revolution in this surprising and haunting thriller from Stefan Bachmann, the internationally bestselling author of The Peculiar and The Whatnot. A Drop of Night will thrill fans of Neal Shusterman and Jessica Khoury.
Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she’s been chosen to participate in an exclusive program that includes an all-expense-paid trip to France and a chance to explore the hidden underground Palais des Papillons, or Palace of Butterflies. Along with four other gifted teenagers, Anouk will be one of the first people to set foot in the palace in more than two hundred years. Bachmann’s masterful scene-building alternates between Anouk’s flight through the palace and the struggles of Aurelie, who escaped the French Revolution by fleeing into the Palais des Papillons in 1792.

A Drop of Night was an interesting and creepy read. The story is told in two different timelines. The first timeline tells the story of Aurélie who is living in the late 1780. Her father is building a palace beneath his palace and it will harbor a dangerous secret. The second timeline is […]

17 02, 2016

Review: THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE by Heidi Heilig

By | Wednesday, February 17, 2016|9 Comments

Wow, this book! Where should I even begin? This book has brilliant story telling, a great cast of characters, time travel, fantastic world building, pirates, romance, costumes, myths, history, and it managed to keep my attention for three straight days of reading. This book may sound similar to Passenger, but it is not. […]

Load More Posts