30 11, 2016

Review: OF FIRE AND STARS by Audrey Coulthurst

By | Wednesday, November 30, 2016|7 Comments

Review: OF FIRE AND STARS by Audrey CoulthurstOf Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst
Published by HarperCollins on November 22nd 2016
Pages: 400
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, General, Romance, LGBT
eARC provided by Balzer & Bray

AmazonBook Depository

An atmospheric and romantic debut fantasy perfect for fans of Ash and The Winner’s Curse.

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile kingdoms. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire—a dangerous gift for the future queen of a land where magic is forbidden.

Now Denna has to learn the ways of her new kingdom while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria’s formidable warhorses before her coronation—and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine, sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, they discover there is more to one another than they thought—and soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms—and each other.

Look at that cover. It’s gorgeous! Ooh, the synopsis looks good. Yay, diversity in YA! Wait a minute, what is this? Ummm, this book wasn’t what I thought it would be. OF FIRE AND STARS starts off without world building. Immediately, our two protagonists meet. Denna is betrothed to Mare’s brother. Denna has […]

20 05, 2016

Review: THE HUNT by Megan Shepherd

By | Friday, May 20, 2016|7 Comments

Review: THE HUNT by Megan ShepherdThe Hunt by Megan Shepherd
Series: The Cage #2
Also in this series: The Cage
Published by HarperCollins on May 24th 2016
Pages: 368
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Social Themes, Death & Dying, Science & Technology
Also by this author: The Cage
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

The Maze Runner meets Scott Westerfeld in the second novel in this gripping and romantic YA series about teens abducted from Earth by an otherworldly race—from Megan Shepherd, the acclaimed author of the Madman’s Daughter series.
They’ve left the cage—but they’re not free yet.
After their failed escape attempt, Cora, Lucky, and Mali have been demoted to the lowest level of human captives and placed in a safari-themed environment called the Hunt, along with wild animals and other human outcasts. They must serve new Kindred masters—Cora as a lounge singer, Lucky as an animal wrangler, and Mali as a safari guide—and follow new rules or face dangerous consequences. Meanwhile, Nok and Rolf have been moved into an enormous dollhouse, observed around the clock by Kindred scientists interested in Nok’s pregnancy. And Leon, the only one who successfully escaped, has teamed up with villainous Mosca black-market traders.
The former inhabitants of the Cage are threatened on all fronts—and maybe worst of all, one of the Hunt’s Kindred safari guests begins to play a twisted game of cat and mouse with Cora. Separated and constantly under watch, she and the others must struggle to stay alive, never mind find a way back to each other. When Cassian secretly offers to train Cora to develop her psychic abilities—to prove the worthiness of humanity in a series of tests called the Gauntlet—she’ll have to decide fast if she dares to trust the Kindred who betrayed her, or if she can forge her own way to freedom.

I recently read and reviewed the first book in this series, The Cage. This series has an excellent premise and some really likeable characters. I am excited to tell you about The Hunt, but know there may be spoilers in here for the first book, The Cage. The Hunt picks right up where […]

16 05, 2016

Review: THE CROWN’S GAME by Evelyn Skye

By | Monday, May 16, 2016|10 Comments

Review: THE CROWN’S GAME by Evelyn SkyeThe Crown's Game by Evelyn Skye
Series: The Crown's Game #1
Published by Balzer & Bray on May 17th 2016
Pages: 416
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Love & Romance, Action & Adventure, General
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

"Gorgeous and richly imagined."—Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series
"Teeming with hidden magic and fiery romance."—Sabaa Tahir, New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes
Perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and Red Queen, The Crown’s Game is a thrilling and atmospheric historical fantasy set in Imperial Russia about two teenagers who must compete for the right to become the Imperial Enchanter—or die in the process—from debut author Evelyn Skye.
Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.
And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know.  The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.
Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter—even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?
For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with—beautiful, whip smart, imaginative—and he can’t stop thinking about her.
And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love . . . or be killed himself.
As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear . . . the Crown’s Game is not one to lose.

Wow! Where should I begin? This book had so much HYPE. I bought into that hype, I fully admit it. I am happy to say that it was well warranted. The Crown’s Game is pretty amazing, I am so excited to tell you about this book. The Crown’s Game is set in Russia. […]

26 01, 2016

Review: THE MYSTERY OF HOLLOW PLACES by Rebecca Podos

By | Tuesday, January 26, 2016|5 Comments

Seventeen year old Imogene is being raised by her Father and step-mother, Libby. Her mother walked out when she was two. When she wakes up to find her Father is gone, she tries to figure out what motivated him to leave, where he went, and how to get him back. Imogene is determined […]

Load More Posts