28 11, 2016

Review: THE DIABOLIC by S. J. Kincaid

By | Monday, November 28, 2016|9 Comments

Review: THE DIABOLIC by S. J. KincaidThe Diabolic by S. J. Kincaid
Published by Simon and Schuster on November 1st 2016
Pages: 416
Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, Thrillers & Suspense, Science Fiction
ARC provided by BEA 2016, Simon & Schuster

AmazonBook Depository

Red Queen meets The Hunger Games in this epic novel about what happens when the galaxy’s most deadly weapon masquerades as a senator’s daughter and a hostage of the galactic court.

A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you’ve been created for.
Nemesis is a Diabolic, a humanoid teenager created to protect a galactic senator’s daughter, Sidonia. The two have grown up side by side, but are in no way sisters. Nemesis is expected to give her life for Sidonia, and she would do so gladly. She would also take as many lives as necessary to keep Sidonia safe.

When the power-mad Emperor learns Sidonia’s father is participating in a rebellion, he summons Sidonia to the Galactic court. She is to serve as a hostage. Now, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Nemesis travels to the court disguised as Sidonia—a killing machine masquerading in a world of corrupt politicians and two-faced senators’ children. It’s a nest of vipers with threats on every side, but Nemesis must keep her true abilities a secret or risk everything.

As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns there is something more to her than just deadly force. She finds a humanity truer than what she encounters from most humans. Amidst all the danger, action, and intrigue, her humanity just might be the thing that saves her life—and the empire.

Believe all the hype about this book. THE DIABOLIC is a fantastic futuristic story about a Diabolic named Nemesis who was made to protect a galactic senator’s daughter, Sidonia. Nemesis loves Sidonia and would kill and even die to protect her. When Sidonia’s mother asks her to stand in for Sidonia and pretend […]

15 11, 2016

Review: TIMEKEEPER by Tara Sim

By | Tuesday, November 15, 2016|12 Comments

Review: TIMEKEEPER by Tara SimTimekeeper by Tara Sim
Series: Timekeeper #1
Published by Skyhorse Publishing, Inc. on November 8th 2016
Pages: 424
Genres: Young Adult, Steampunk, LGBT, Fantasy & Magic
eARC provided by Skypony Press

AmazonBook Depository

Two o’clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.
It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.
But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

TIMEKEEPER was such a magical read. This story is about a 17 year old clock mechanic named Danny. He is a bit young, but he is also really talented. Three years ago, Danny’s father, also a clock mechanic, got caught in a town where time stopped. He hasn’t see him since. Two years […]

7 10, 2016

Review: FEAR THE DROWNING DEEP by Sarah Glenn Marsh

By | Friday, October 7, 2016|15 Comments

Review: FEAR THE DROWNING DEEP by Sarah Glenn MarshFear the Drowning Deep by Sarah Glenn Marsh
October 4th, 2016
Pages: 312
Genres: Young Adult, Fairy Tales & Folklore, General
eARC provided by Skypony Press

AmazonBook Depository

Some secrets are better left at the bottom of the ocean.
Sixteen-year-old Bridey Corkill longs to leave her small island and see the world; the farther from the sea, the better. When Bridey was young, she witnessed something lure her granddad off a cliff and into a watery grave with a smile on his face. Now, in 1913, those haunting memories are dredged to the surface when a young woman is found drowned on the beach. Bridey suspects that whatever compelled her granddad to leap has made its return to the Isle of Man.
Soon, people in Bridey’s idyllic village begin vanishing, and she finds an injured boy on the shore—an outsider who can’t remember who he is or where he’s from. Bridey’s family takes him in so he can rest and heal. In exchange for saving his life, he teaches Bridey how to master her fear of the water—stealing her heart in the process.
But something sinister is lurking in the deep, and Bridey must gather her courage to figure out who—or what—is plaguing her village, and find a way to stop it before she loses everyone she loves.
Sky Pony Press, with our Good Books, Racehorse and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of books for young readers—picture books for small children, chapter books, books for middle grade readers, and novels for young adults. Our list includes bestsellers for children who love to play Minecraft; stories told with LEGO bricks; books that teach lessons about tolerance, patience, and the environment, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

It is hard to describe this book without going into crazy detail. I suggest you read the blurb above for an accurate description and the come back down and read my thoughts. Go ahead, I’ll wait…… This book was so atmospheric and dark. It is set in Isle of Man in 1913. In […]

4 10, 2016

Review: DISRUPTION by Jessica Shirvington

By | Tuesday, October 4, 2016|4 Comments

Review: DISRUPTION by Jessica ShirvingtonDisruption by Jessica Shirvington
Series: Disruption #1
Published by Harper Paperbacks on Pages: 416
Genres: Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult
ARC provided by BEA 2016, HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

The heart-stopping first chapter in bestselling author Jessica Shirvington's Disruption series.
What if a microchip could identify your perfect match? What if it could be used against you and the ones you love? Eight years ago, Mercer Corporation's M-Bands became mandatory. An evolution of the smartphone, the bracelets promised an easier life. Instead, they have come to control it.Two years ago, Maggie Stevens watched helplessly as one of the people she loved most was taken from her, shattering her world as she knew it. Now, Maggie is ready. And Quentin Mercer - heir to the M-Corp empire - has become key to Maggie's plan.But as the pieces of her dangerous design fall into place, could Quentin's involvement destroy everything she's fought for? In a world full of broken promises, the ones Maggie must keep could be the most heartbreaking.
Ages 14+

Very good, very good! Disruption hooked me right away. This story takes place in a dystopian/sci-fi world where social rating is everything. Everyone wears an M-Band that displays their social love compatibility rating for you and anyone near you to see. This book had so much I love about dystopian YA: Protagonist that […]

28 09, 2016

Review: LAST SEEN LEAVING by Caleb Roehrig

By | Wednesday, September 28, 2016|10 Comments

Review: LAST SEEN LEAVING by Caleb RoehrigLast Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig
Published by Feiwel & Friends on October 4th 2016
Pages: 336
Genres: Contemporary, LGBT, Mystery, Young Adult
eARC provided by Macmillan

AmazonBook Depository

Flynn's girlfriend has disappeared. How can he uncover her secrets without revealing his own?

Flynn's girlfriend, January, is missing. The cops are asking questions he can't answer, and her friends are telling stories that don't add up. All eyes are on Flynn—as January's boyfriend, he must know something.

But Flynn has a secret of his own. And as he struggles to uncover the truth about January's disappearance, he must also face the truth about himself.

Oh this book! I am scratching my head that more people aren’t talking about it. It is so good! I admit it started off slow. In fact at first I didn’t think I liked the characters very much. I kept reading though and slowly I found myself thinking a lot about Flynn, wondering […]

26 09, 2016

Review: EMPIRE OF STORMS by Sarah J. Maas

By | Monday, September 26, 2016|2 Comments

Review: EMPIRE OF STORMS by Sarah J. MaasEmpire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #5
Also in this series: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA on September 6th 2016
Pages: 693
Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, General, Love & Romance, Fantasy & Magic
Also by this author: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows
Hardcover provided by My Wallet (purchased)

AmazonBook Depository

Kingdoms collide in Sarah J. Maas's epic fifth installment in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series.
The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't.
As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.
Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

What can I say about Empire of Storms other than it is the 693 page EPIC 5th book in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas? I have thoughts now that I am done reading this. The bottom line for those of you that don’t want all the fluff is that […]

Load More Posts