13 06, 2017

Recent Reads -Women on the Edge: ALMOST MISSED YOU and A SIMPLE FAVOR

By | Tuesday, June 13, 2017|3 Comments

These two books are both written by debut authors and feature women in trouble. I would classify them both as mystery/thriller. Other than that, they aren’t really that similar. I liked one much more than the other. I love the idea of this book. ALMOST MISSED YOU is about second chances and what-ifs […]

18 05, 2017

Review: THE PERFECT STRANGER by Megan Miranda

By | Thursday, May 18, 2017|3 Comments

I was totally blown away last year by ALL THE MISSING GIRLS. I knew this book wouldn’t be written in the same backwards fashion, but I still expected a lot. I was not disappointed. This author has a talent for writing mystery. The story starts with Leah’s fixation on her free spirited roommate […]

12 05, 2017

Review: FINDER’S KEEPERS and END OF WATCH by Stephen King

By | Friday, May 12, 2017|8 Comments

After reading MR.MERCEDES I knew I would have to finish this series. Stephen King is one of my favorite authors and his delve into police procedural is pretty fucking fantastic. Bill Hodges is a perfectly flawed hero and I grew to really love him. In FINDER’S KEEPERS we meet a kid named Pete […]

8 11, 2016

Review: THE MURDER GAME by (Julie Apple) Catherine McKenzie

By | Tuesday, November 8, 2016|11 Comments

Review: THE MURDER GAME by (Julie Apple) Catherine McKenzieThe Murder Game by Catherine McKenzie, Julie Apple
Published by Lawsome Books on November 1, 2016
Pages: 340
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Suspense
Also by this author: Fractured
eARC

Amazon

For fans of The Secret History and How to Get Away With Murder comes an exciting new voice in suspense fiction.

Ten years working as a prosecutor have left Meredith Delay jaded and unsure of what she wants out of life. She’s good at her job, but it haunts her. Her boyfriend wants her to commit, but she keeps him at arm’s length. Then Meredith is assigned to a high-profile prosecution involving the violent murder of a fallen hockey star. At first, it appears to be just another case to work. But when her old friend Julian is accused of the murder, it takes on a whole new dimension.

Meredith, Julian, Jonathan, and Lily were a tight-knit group in law school. But now, Jonathan’s defending Julian, and Lily’s loyalties aren’t clear. And when Julian invokes a rare—and risky—defence, Meredith is forced to confront their past.

Has something they played at as students finally been brought to death?

This is such a fun idea! This book is written by the main character in Catherine McKenzie’s book FRACTURED. THE MURDER GAME is semi fictional account of a woman in law school and then ten years later that same woman called to prosecute a man she used to know. The defense attorney is […]

19 09, 2016

Review: ONLY DAUGHTER by Anna Snoekstra

By | Monday, September 19, 2016|6 Comments

Review: ONLY DAUGHTER by Anna SnoekstraOnly Daughter by Anna Snoekstra
Published by Mira Books on October 1st 2016
Pages: 400
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Psychological, Suspense, Crime, General
ARC provided by BEA 2016, Harlequin

AmazonBook Depository

In this chilling psychological thriller, one woman's dark past becomes another's deadly future 
In 2003, sixteen-year-old Rebecca Winter disappeared.  
She'd been enjoying her summer break: working at a fast-food restaurant, crushing on an older boy and shoplifting with her best friend. Mysteriously ominous things began to happen—a presence in her room at night, periods of blackouts, a feeling of being watched—though Bec remained oblivious of what was to come.  
Eleven years later she is replaced. 
A young woman, desperate after being arrested, claims to be the decade-missing Bec.  
Soon the impostor is living Bec's life. Sleeping in her bed. Hugging her mother and father. Learning her best friends' names. Playing with her little brothers. 
But Bec's welcoming family and enthusiastic friends are not quite as they seem. As the impostor dodges the detective investigating her case, she begins to delve into the life of the real Bec Winter—and soon realizes that whoever took Bec is still at large, and that she is in imminent danger.

I wasn’t sure about this book. The main character was wholly unlikable for me until about almost half way through the story. The main character is telling a major lie, she pretends to be a girl who went missing 11 years ago. The thing that kills me about this story is that there […]

Load More Posts