6 05, 2016

Review: UNFORGIVABLE by Amy Reed

By | Friday, May 6, 2016|4 Comments

Review: UNFORGIVABLE by Amy ReedUnforgivable by Amy Reed
Series: Invincible #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on May 3rd 2016
Pages: 272
Genres: Young Adult, Love & Romance, Social Themes, Death & Dying, Social Issues
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

In this raw, gut-wrenching, and beautifully written sequel to Invincible, Marcus continues Evie’s story of their intense romance, a stunning conclusion to this contemporary duology perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and Sara Zarr.
Marcus knows pain. The kind that swallows you like a black hole. His brother committed suicide, his mother left him, and his dad ignores him inside their cavernous house. Relief seems to come only from drugs, alcohol, and secret acts of self-destruction.
Until he met Evie. Together, they lived in the moment. They fell in love—hard—creating their own beautiful world. But they each had their own secrets, their own pain.
Unforgivable takes off where Invincible ended—with Evie drowning in San Francisco Bay. Marcus finds her just in time, but her survival is not the happy ending he was hoping for. Forbidden from seeing Evie by her parents and unable to reach her, Marcus learns of a pain that might break him completely.
The pain of losing Evie becomes tangled with the loss of his mother and brother, and he must face the ghosts he has been trying so desperately to outrun, or risk losing Evie forever.

I have to admit right away that I didn’t read Invincible. The real issue now is “did I feel like I missed anything by not reading it?” Nope. I caught everything I needed to enjoy this story as a stand-alone. I am not even going to try and re-cap this story. Every detail […]

11 04, 2016

Review: FLAMECASTER by Cinda Williams Chima

By | Monday, April 11, 2016|7 Comments

Review: FLAMECASTER by Cinda Williams ChimaFlamecaster by Cinda Williams Chima
Series: Shattered Realms #1
Also in this series: Shadowcaster
Published by HarperCollins on April 5th 2016
Pages: 544
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Action & Adventure, General, Social Themes, Friendship, Social Issues
Also by this author: Shadowcaster, The Demon King, The Exiled Queen, The Gray Wolf Throne, The Crimson Crown
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

Set in the world of the New York Times bestselling Seven Realms series, a generation later, this is a breathtaking story of dark magic, chilling threats, and two unforgettable characters walking a knife-sharp line between life and death. This dazzling beginning to a new series is indispensable for fans of Cinda Williams Chima and a perfect starting point for readers who are new to her work.
Adrian sul’Han, known as Ash, is a trained healer with a powerful gift of magic—and a thirst for revenge. Ash is forced into hiding after a series of murders throws the queendom into chaos. Now he’s closer than ever to killing the man responsible, the cruel king of Arden. With time running out, Ash faces an excruciating choice: Can he use his powers not to save a life but to take it?
Abandoned at birth, Jenna Bandelow was told that the magemark on the back of her neck would make her a target. But when the King’s Guard launches a relentless search for a girl with a mark like hers, Jenna assumes that it has more to do with her role as a saboteur than any birth-based curse. Though Jenna doesn’t know why she’s being hunted, she knows that she can’t get caught. 
Eventually, Ash’s and Jenna’s paths will collide in Arden. Thrown together by chance and joined by their hatred of the ruthless king, they will come to rescue each other in ways they cannot yet imagine.

This review might not be coherent. I really loved this story, but it’s complicated. It’s hard to explain. My love for this book is hard to talk about. Bear with me as I try to put my thoughts about this book into words. Famecaster is one of those stories that has everything I […]

26 01, 2016

Review: THE MYSTERY OF HOLLOW PLACES by Rebecca Podos

By | Tuesday, January 26, 2016|5 Comments

Seventeen year old Imogene is being raised by her Father and step-mother, Libby. Her mother walked out when she was two. When she wakes up to find her Father is gone, she tries to figure out what motivated him to leave, where he went, and how to get him back. Imogene is determined […]

8 01, 2016

Review: THIS IS WHERE IT ENDS by Marieke Nijkamp

By | Friday, January 8, 2016|11 Comments

So this book took on some tough topics. Bullying, violence in schools, mass shootings, death of children, sibling rivalry, and child abuse, just to name a few. The story had 4 different POVs and the action started pretty early in the story. The story takes place over just 54 minutes of these people’s […]

Load More Posts