21 11, 2016

Review: GLITTER by Aprilynne Pike

By | Monday, November 21, 2016|9 Comments

Review: GLITTER by Aprilynne PikeGlitter by Aprilynne Pike
Series: Glitter Duology #1
Published by Random House Children's Books on October 25th 2016
Pages: 384
Genres: JUVENILE FICTION, Action & Adventure, General, Girls & Women, Royalty, Young Adult Fiction
eARC provided by Random House Children's

AmazonBook Depository

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike comes a truly original new novel--Breaking Bad meets Marie Antoinette in a near-future world where the residents of Versailles live like it's the eighteenth century and an almost-queen turns to drug dealing to save her own life.  

Outside the palace of Versailles, it's modern day. Inside, the people dress, eat, and act like it's the eighteenth century--with the added bonus of technology to make court life lavish, privileged, and frivolous. The palace has every indulgence, but for one pretty young thing, it's about to become a very beautiful prison.

When Danica witnesses an act of murder by the young king, her mother makes a cruel power play . . . blackmailing the king into making Dani his queen. When she turns eighteen, Dani will marry the most ruthless and dangerous man of the court. She has six months to escape her terrifying destiny. Six months to raise enough money to disappear into the real world beyond the palace gates.

Her ticket out? Glitter. A drug so powerful that a tiny pinch mixed into a pot of rouge or lip gloss can make the wearer hopelessly addicted. Addicted to a drug Dani can sell for more money than she ever dreamed.

But in Versailles, secrets are impossible to keep. And the most dangerous secret--falling for a drug dealer outside the palace walls--is one risk she has to take.

I really enjoyed this book, but I didn’t know what to expect based on the cover. The Baroque society is really fascinating, so I can see the allure of living like that. In this modern day world, high society live like it’s the eighteenth century. The current King’s great-grandfather arranged the purchase of […]

30 08, 2016

Review: THREE DARK CROWNS by Kendare Blake

By | Tuesday, August 30, 2016|22 Comments

Review: THREE DARK CROWNS by Kendare BlakeThree Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
Series: Three Dark Crowns #1
Published by Harper Teen on September 22nd 2016
Pages: 416
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult Fiction, Royalty, Fantasy, General
ARC provided by BEA 2016, HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomach-ache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of beasts.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn't solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it's not just a game of win or lose . . . it's life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.
The last queen standing gets the crown.

Three Dark Crowns is a heart-stopping fantasy from Kendare Blake, acclaimed author of Anna Dressed in Blood.

THREE DARK CROWNS was deliciously dark! This story is about triplet sisters, all with a different power, raised separately by the houses that hone that power. On the year of their sixteenth birthday, these three will face off and have a year to kill each other. The one left alive will inherit the […]

20 06, 2016

Review: AND I DARKEN by Kiersten White

By | Monday, June 20, 2016|15 Comments

Review: AND I DARKEN by Kiersten WhiteAnd I Darken by Kiersten White
Series: The Conquerors Saga #1
Published by Delacorte Press on June 28th 2016
Pages: 496
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Historical, Medieval, Religious, General, Royalty, Young Adult
Also by this author: Now I Rise
eARC provided by Delacorte Press

AmazonBook Depository

This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO’s Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story’s atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters. Fans of Victoria Aveyard’s THE RED QUEEN, Kristin Cashore’s GRACELING, and Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE ASHES won’t want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in a trilogy.
NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.
Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.
But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.
From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken.

Well, this book took me completely by surprise. I mean, I always hope to love a book. I had no idea I would like this so much. Lada Dragwlya enters this story (and my soul) in the best way ever. She is cunning and absolutely her Father’s favorite. He loves her wicked heart. […]

29 04, 2016

Review: QUEEN OF HEARTS by Colleen Oakes

By | Friday, April 29, 2016|10 Comments

Review: QUEEN OF HEARTS by Colleen OakesQueen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes
Series: Queen of Hearts #1
Also in this series: Blood of Wonderland
Published by HarperCollins on May 3rd 2016
Pages: 320
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Royalty, Fairy Tales & Folklore, Adaptations, Classics
Also by this author: Blood of Wonderland
eARC provided by HarperTeen

AmazonBook Depository

The first novel in Colleen Oakes’s epic, imaginative series tells the origin of one of the most infamous villains—the Queen of Hearts.
This is not the story of the Wonderland we know. Alice has not fallen down a rabbit hole. This is a Wonderland where beneath each smile lies a secret, each tart comes with a demand, and only prisoners tell the truth.
Dinah is the princess who will one day reign over Wonderland. She has not yet seen the dark depths of her kingdom; she longs only for her father’s approval and a future with the boy she loves. But when a betrayal breaks her heart and threatens her throne, she is launched into Wonderland’s dangerous political game. Dinah must stay one step ahead of her cunning enemies or she’ll lose not just the crown but her head.

This was an awesome read. I love Wonderland and Queen of Hearts tells the story of Dinah. I love her beginnings as a girl who just wants approval from her father. There is much more going on in Wonderland when a half-sister comes out of nowhere and threatens Dinah’s crown. Queen of Hearts […]

Load More Posts