20 06, 2016

Review: AND I DARKEN by Kiersten White

By | Monday, June 20, 2016|15 Comments

Review: AND I DARKEN by Kiersten WhiteAnd I Darken by Kiersten White
Series: The Conquerors Saga #1
Published by Delacorte Press on June 28th 2016
Pages: 496
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Historical, Medieval, Religious, General, Royalty, Young Adult
Also by this author: Now I Rise
eARC provided by Delacorte Press

AmazonBook Depository

This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO’s Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story’s atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters. Fans of Victoria Aveyard’s THE RED QUEEN, Kristin Cashore’s GRACELING, and Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE ASHES won’t want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in a trilogy.
NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.
Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.
But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.
From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken.

Well, this book took me completely by surprise. I mean, I always hope to love a book. I had no idea I would like this so much. Lada Dragwlya enters this story (and my soul) in the best way ever. She is cunning and absolutely her Father’s favorite. He loves her wicked heart. […]

4 04, 2016

Review: SIREN’S FURY by Mary Weber

By | Monday, April 4, 2016|2 Comments

Review: SIREN’S FURY by Mary WeberSiren's Fury by Mary Weber
Series: The Storm Siren Trilogy #2
Also in this series: Storm Siren
Published by Thomas Nelson Publishers on June 2nd 2015
Pages: 368
Genres: Young Adult, Religious, Christian, Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Dystopian
Also by this author: Storm Siren
eARC provided by Thomas Nelson Publishers

AmazonBook Depository

"I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But it's no use. The curse I've spent my entire life abhorring--the thing I trained so hard to control--no longer exists."
 
Nym risked her life to save Faelen, her homeland, from a losing war, only to discover that the shapeshifter Draewulf has stolen everything she holds dear. But when the repulsive monster robs Nym of her storm-summoning abilities as well, the beautiful Elemental realizes her war is only just beginning.
 
Now powerless to control the elements that once emboldened her, Nym stows away on an airship traveling to the metallic kingdom of Bron. She must stop Draewulf. But the horrors he's brought to life and the secrets of Bron are more than Nym bargained for. Then the disturbing Lord Myles tempts her with new powers that could destroy the monster, and Nym must decide whether she can compromise in the name of good even if it costs her very soul.
 
As she navigates the stark industrial cityscape of Bron, Nym is faced with an impossible choice: change the future with one slice of a blade . . . or sacrifice the entire kingdom for the one thing her heart just can't let go.

*This review will contain spoilers for Storm Siren* So, the end of Storm Siren was a bit of a cliffhanger. Eogan and Nym have won and they are now safe and happy together. Except they are not because Eogan isn’t really himself. The evil Draewulf is now inhabiting Eogan’s body. Nym is beside […]

Load More Posts