7 11, 2016

Review: CERTAIN DARK THINGS by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

By | Monday, November 7, 2016|1 Comment

Review: CERTAIN DARK THINGS by Silvia Moreno-GarciaCertain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Published by Thomas Dunne Books on October 25th 2016
Pages: 336
Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Contemporary, Paranormal, Dark Fantasy, Literary, Romance
eARC provided by Thomas Dunne Books

AmazonBook Depository

Welcome to Mexico City... An Oasis In A Sea Of Vampires...
Domingo, a lonely garbage-collecting street kid, is busy eeking out a living when a jaded vampire on the run swoops into his life.
Atl, the descendant of Aztec blood drinkers, must feast on the young to survive and Domingo looks especially tasty. Smart, beautiful, and dangerous, Atl needs to escape to South America, far from the rival narco-vampire clan pursuing her. Domingo is smitten.
Her plan doesn’t include developing any real attachment to Domingo. Hell, the only living creature she loves is her trusty Doberman. Little by little, Atl finds herself warming up to the scrappy young man and his effervescent charm.
And then there’s Ana, a cop who suddenly finds herself following a trail of corpses and winds up smack in the middle of vampire gang rivalries.
Vampires, humans, cops, and gangsters collide in the dark streets of Mexico City. Do Atl and Domingo even stand a chance of making it out alive?

It has been a minute since I read a good vampire novel. CERTAIN DARK THINGS was an adult story about vampires. This story takes place in Mexico City, one of the many cities in the world that doesn’t allow vampires. There are many different species of vampires in this story. Atl is perhaps […]

9 09, 2016

Review and Giveaway: LABYRINTH LOST by Zoraida Córdova

By | Friday, September 9, 2016|8 Comments

Review and Giveaway: LABYRINTH LOST by Zoraida CórdovaLabyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova
Series: Brooklyn Brujas #1
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on September 1st 2016
Pages: 336
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, LGBT, Paranormal, Supernatural, Young Adult Fiction
ARC provided by BEA 2016, Sourcebooks Fire

AmazonBook Depository

"Enchanting and complex. Every page is filled with magic." --Danielle Paige, New York Times best-selling author of Dorothy Must Die
Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.
Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation...and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can't trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange marks on his skin.
The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland...
Praise for Labyrinth Lost:
"Zoraida Córdova's prose enchants from start to finish. Labyrinth Lost is pure magic." --Melissa Grey, author of The Girl at Midnight
"Magical and empowering, Labyrinth Lost is an incredible heroine's journey filled with mythos come to life; but at its heart, honors the importance of love and family." --Cindy Pon, author of Serpentine and Silver Phoenix
"A brilliant brown-girl-in-Brooklyn update on Alice in Wonderland and Dante's Inferno. Very creepy, very magical, very necessary."--Daniel Jose Older, author of Shadowshaper
"Labyrinth Lost is a magical story of love, family, and finding yourself. Enchanting from start to finish." --Amy Tintera, author of Ruined.

LABYRINTH LOST was such a fun story! First, I want to acknowledge a book with a bunch of diversity done right. There was a heroine not so sure of herself, a bad boy and a conflicting girl-crush all wrapped up in a fantastical adventure full of magic. This book had my attention right […]

6 09, 2014

Blog Tour, Review & Giveaway: Captivate Me by S.J. Pierce

By | Saturday, September 6, 2014|4 Comments

Blog Tour, Review & Giveaway: Captivate Me by S.J. Pierce

Blog Tour, Review & Giveaway: Captivate Me by S.J. PierceCaptivate Me by S.J. Pierce
Series: Captivated #1
Published by Amazon Publishing on January 9th 2014
Pages: 281
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
eBook provided by Xpresso Book Tours

AmazonB&NAudible

Captivate Me is Book One of The Captivated Series, a Young Adult Paranormal Romance"My mom had always told me - when you meet "the one," you'll know; they'll captivate your heart the moment you lay eyes on them. I had always wondered, though, if my mom's words of wisdom were finite - if they applied to everyone. Maybe those who had found their one great love were the lucky few, and maybe the rest of us would have to settle for less than earth-shattering."

Seventeen-year-old Kat Walsh is a Gifted - a human with paranormal abilities. With her mom a former Angel and her dad a dream prophet, it's always been in her genetic make-up to be extraordinary. Unfortunately for her, the world can't handle the strange or unusual. So when she slips up and uses her powers at her high school in Ireland, the entire student body treats her like a freak - even the ones she thought were her closest friends.

Broken, but hopeful for a fresh start, she allows her parents to enroll her in a boarding school buried deep within the forests of a small Colorado town. At Midland Pines, School for the Gifted, she feels as though she can finally be herself; she makes new friends and even has the attention of the most popular guy in school - Levi. Everything feels normal again... or does it?

Not long after her arrival, weird dreams of an alluring boy whom she's never met surface during the night, and the eerie, shadowy trees encircling their school seem to call to her. As these disturbing, yet enticing developments intensify, other bizarre occurrences happen - students and staff turn up missing, and mystery visitors leave gifts while she sleeps. With all of these other things vying for her attention, a desperate Levi has to fight even harder to keep her interest. But with the dreams of the attractive boy slowly captivating her heart, Kat has to make a choice - will she settle for 'great' Levi, or will she search for her elusive dream visitor, possibly stumbling across 'amazing?'

From the author of the Alyx Rayer Chronicles, comes a refreshingly different Young Adult series with plenty of love, suspense, and a new take on the Paranormal.

Recommended for readers 16 and up due to mature content.

Before Harry Potter I had “views” about people who read YA. Something in my heart has crossed over and now I find myself seeking these books out. Am I too old to be reading/enjoying these books? I don’t care anymore. It’s like reality TV, I can’t deny my addiction. I am a huge […]

31 05, 2014

Seductress: Erotic Tales of Immortal Desire

By | Saturday, May 31, 2014|0 Comments

Seductress: Erotic Tales of Immortal DesireSeductress by D. L. King
Published by Cleis Press on September 18th 2013
Pages: 244
Genres: Fiction, General, Fiction, Erotica, Fantasy, Paranormal, Gothic, Romance
Paperback provided by Cleis Press

AmazonBook Depository

She’s beautiful. She’s enchanting. She’s mysterious and unfathomable. She’s your fondest dream and your worst nightmare. She’s sweet and sublimely submissive. She’s dark and fully in charge. She’s flirty yet mysterious. She promises safety in her arms but there’s danger in her eyes. One look, one scent, one taste, one sigh and you’re rock hard or dripping wet. She’s sex incarnate.

Succub are sexual vampires, women who steal the life force from their victim, but what a way to go! Some say succubi visit their victims in dreams; others say they seduce them in the flesh. Whether your succubus is a shape shifter, has permanent bat wings or wears a mini skirt ; whether her victims are taken unawares, follow her with glee or scream bloody murder as they come, these stories are hot. As hell.

I am really into the supernatural. It seems so easy for this topic of a Seductress to be a successful collection of erotic stories. Honestly though not all the stories really were all that. The book started on such a high note with the first story really drawing the reader in. The next […]

27 05, 2014

Lustfully Ever After: Fairy Tale Erotic Romance

By | Tuesday, May 27, 2014|2 Comments

Lustfully Ever After: Fairy Tale Erotic RomanceLustfully Ever After by Kristina Wright
Published by Cleis Press on May 15th 2012
Pages: 232
Genres: Fiction, Erotica, Fairy Tales, Romance, Paranormal
Paperback provided by Cleis Press

AmazonBook Depository

In Lustfully Ever After, classic fairy tales are reimagined for an adult audience with twists (and kinks) to keep readers entertained.
In Michelle Augello-Page's romantically charged BDSM tale "Wolf Moon," Little Red Riding Hood is the big bad wolf, while Kristina Lloyd rewrites "The Twelve Dancing Princesses" as a scorching hot MFM threesome in "The Shoes That Were Danced to Pieces." Shanna Germain's "Mirror Mirror" shows the sensual Sapphic side of Snow White's stepmother and Andrea Dale pens a contemporary version of "The Steadfast Tin Soldier" in the poignantly erotic "Steadfast."This delightful collection of fairy tales will lead you down a magical path into forbidden romance and erotic love. You won’t need those bread crumbs to find your way home—for home is where the heart is and the authors of Lustfully Ever After know your heart’s most wicked and secret desires.

I actually reviewed this book last year for my now deleted blog. I wanted to revisit and republish my review since I am now reading A Princess Bound which is also edited by Kristina Wright. Review coming soon… The book Lustfully Ever After is a collection of 17 stories by various authors. The […]

Load More Posts