8 11, 2016

Review: THE MURDER GAME by (Julie Apple) Catherine McKenzie

By | Tuesday, November 8, 2016|11 Comments

Review: THE MURDER GAME by (Julie Apple) Catherine McKenzieThe Murder Game by Catherine McKenzie, Julie Apple
Published by Lawsome Books on November 1, 2016
Pages: 340
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Suspense
Also by this author: Fractured
eARC

Amazon

For fans of The Secret History and How to Get Away With Murder comes an exciting new voice in suspense fiction.

Ten years working as a prosecutor have left Meredith Delay jaded and unsure of what she wants out of life. She’s good at her job, but it haunts her. Her boyfriend wants her to commit, but she keeps him at arm’s length. Then Meredith is assigned to a high-profile prosecution involving the violent murder of a fallen hockey star. At first, it appears to be just another case to work. But when her old friend Julian is accused of the murder, it takes on a whole new dimension.

Meredith, Julian, Jonathan, and Lily were a tight-knit group in law school. But now, Jonathan’s defending Julian, and Lily’s loyalties aren’t clear. And when Julian invokes a rare—and risky—defence, Meredith is forced to confront their past.

Has something they played at as students finally been brought to death?

This is such a fun idea! This book is written by the main character in Catherine McKenzie’s book FRACTURED. THE MURDER GAME is semi fictional account of a woman in law school and then ten years later that same woman called to prosecute a man she used to know. The defense attorney is […]

28 09, 2016

Review: LAST SEEN LEAVING by Caleb Roehrig

By | Wednesday, September 28, 2016|10 Comments

Review: LAST SEEN LEAVING by Caleb RoehrigLast Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig
Published by Feiwel & Friends on October 4th 2016
Pages: 336
Genres: Contemporary, LGBT, Mystery, Young Adult
eARC provided by Macmillan

AmazonBook Depository

Flynn's girlfriend has disappeared. How can he uncover her secrets without revealing his own?

Flynn's girlfriend, January, is missing. The cops are asking questions he can't answer, and her friends are telling stories that don't add up. All eyes are on Flynn—as January's boyfriend, he must know something.

But Flynn has a secret of his own. And as he struggles to uncover the truth about January's disappearance, he must also face the truth about himself.

Oh this book! I am scratching my head that more people aren’t talking about it. It is so good! I admit it started off slow. In fact at first I didn’t think I liked the characters very much. I kept reading though and slowly I found myself thinking a lot about Flynn, wondering […]

23 05, 2016

Review: DON’T YOU CRY by Mary Kubrica

By | Monday, May 23, 2016|5 Comments

Review: DON’T YOU CRY by Mary KubricaDon't You Cry by Mary Kubica
Published by Mira Books on May 17th 2016
Pages: 320
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery, Psychological, Thrillers, Thrillers & Suspense
Also by this author: The Good Girl, Pretty Baby
ARC provided by Harlequin

AmazonBook Depository

New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl, Mary Kubica returns with an electrifying and addictive tale of deceit and obsession.

In downtown Chicago, a young woman named Esther Vaughan disappears from her apartment without a trace. A haunting letter addressed to My Dearest is found among her possessions, leaving her friend and roommate Quinn Collins to wonder where Esther is and whether or not she's the person Quinn thought she knew.

Meanwhile, in a small Michigan harbor town an hour outside Chicago, a mysterious woman appears in the quiet coffee shop where eighteen-year-old Alex Gallo works as a dishwasher. He is immediately drawn to her charm and beauty, but what starts as an innocent crush quickly spirals into something far more dark and sinister than he ever expected.

As Quinn searches for answers about Esther, and Alex is drawn further under Pearl's spell, master of suspense Mary Kubica takes readers on a taut and twisted thrill ride that builds to a stunning conclusion and shows that no matter how fast and far we run, the past always catches up with us in the end.

I met Mary Kubrica at BEA this year. She was a delight in person. I loved her debut The Good Girl and her follow up suspense Pretty Baby. Don’t You Cry was almost as good, and better in other ways. This book is not as suspenseful as her other two books have been. […]

25 06, 2015

THE WRONG MAN by Kate White

By | Thursday, June 25, 2015|4 Comments

THE WRONG MAN by Kate WhiteThe Wrong Man by Kate White
Published by Harper Paperbacks on June 16th 2015
Pages: 384
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Psychological, Thrillers
ARC provided by TLC Book Tours

AmazonB&NAudibleBook Depository

New York Times bestselling author of Eyes on You and The Sixes delivers a compelling thriller of mistaken identity and psychological suspense about an accomplished career woman who thinks she's met the man of her dreams--but instead he turns out to be her worst nightmare.

Bold and adventurous in her work as one of Manhattan's hottest interior decorators, Kit Finn couldn't be tamer in her personal life. So, while on vacation in the Florida Keys, Kit resolves to do something risky for once. Flirting with Matt Healy--the rugged stranger she literally bumps into at her hotel--is one thing. Going back to his room after their date is another.

Instead, Matt offers to cook her dinner when they're both back in the city. But when Kit arrives at his luxury apartment ready for the date of a lifetime, who is the man who opens the door?

Kit's usually so good at reading people. How could she have been taken in by the deceptions of a con man? And why has he targeted her? Piece by piece, Kit realizes that this treachery goes a lot deeper, and gets a lot deadlier. Now the only way out is to expose the vicious puppet master who's turned her life upside-down.

Adrenaline-charged and filled with harrowing twists at every turn, The Wrong Man will leave readers guessing until the final page.

This was a fun light read. I flew through it and finished it in one day. It wasn’t as thrilling as I had hoped, but it was a nice break from my reality. The Wrong Man was an okay read. Kit is looking for a bit of excitement. While on a working vacation […]

Load More Posts