11 11, 2016

Review: DEAD GIRL’S SOCIETY by Michelle Krys

By | Friday, November 11, 2016|12 Comments

Review: DEAD GIRL’S SOCIETY by Michelle KrysDead Girls Society by Michelle Krys
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on November 8th 2016
Pages: 304
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Horror, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Social Themes, General
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

A girl accepts a mysterious invitation to play a deadly game in this suspense-filled thriller from the author of HEXED--perfect for fans of NERVE by Jeanne Ryan and Lauren Oliver's PANIC.

You are cordially invited to participate in a game of thrills and dares. Tell no one, and come alone. If you dare.

Hope is sick of everyone treating her like she’s breakable. Sure, she has cystic fibrosis (basically really bad lungs), but she’s tired of being babied by her mom and her overprotective best friend, Ethan, not to mention worrying about paying for her expensive medication and how she’s going to afford college.And she’s bored with life in her run-down New Orleans suburb.

When an invitation arrives from a mysterious group that calls itself the Society, Hope jumps at the chance for some excitement. This could be her ticket out. All she has to do is complete a few dares and she just might win some real money.

But the Society isn’t all that it seems . . . and soon Hope finds that playing the game isn’t a choice—it’s a requirement.

“Dark, twisty, and thrilling.” —Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of Dorothy Must Die 
 “A delicious and fast-paced read! This one kept me up way past my bedtime!” —Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’
From the Hardcover edition.

This was a fun thriller. I think this story was written at a great pace and had a cool concept. Some of it was really far fetched. I would sum this up as good, not great. First the good: I like Hope as a person. I love the idea of the society with […]

30 05, 2016

Review: PLEASE DON’T TELL by Laura Tims

By | Monday, May 30, 2016|3 Comments

Review: PLEASE DON’T TELL by Laura TimsPlease Don't Tell by Laura Tims
Published by HarperTeen on May 24th 2016
Pages: 336
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Romance, General, Family, Siblings, Young Adult, Love & Romance
eARC provided by HarperCollins

AmazonBook Depository

Debut author Laura Tims writes an intense and utterly gripping contemporary YA tale perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars. Joy has done everything to protect her twin sister...including murder.
Joy killed Adam Gordon for what he did to her sister, Grace. At least, that’s what she thinks happened. Now Adam can’t hurt anyone ever again, and her sister can be free from the boy who harmed her.
But someone else knows what Joy did, and they’re going to out her as a cold-blooded killer if she doesn’t expose the scandalous secrets bubbling just below the surface of her mundane town. As the demands escalate, and she finds herself falling for Adam’s half brother, Joy must figure out the blackmailer’s identity before everything spirals out of control.

Oh no! Please do not believe the Goodreads rating for Please Don’t Tell. It is so good. I practically read it in one sitting. This story follows twins Grace and Joy. Joy and Grace aren’t really honest with each other anymore since last summer when Grace tried to break out of her shell […]

13 04, 2016

Review: A FIERCE AND SUBTLE POISON by Samantha Mabry

By | Wednesday, April 13, 2016|7 Comments

Review: A FIERCE AND SUBTLE POISON by Samantha MabryA Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry
Published by Algonquin Books on April 12th 2016
Pages: 288
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Magical Realism, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Romance, General
eARC provided by Algonquin Books

AmazonBook Depository

In this stunning debut, legends collide with reality when a boy is swept into the magical, dangerous world of a girl filled with poison.   Everyone knows the legends about the cursed girl--Isabel, the one the senoras whisper about. They say she has green skin and grass for hair, and she feeds on the poisonous plants that fill her family's Caribbean island garden. Some say she can grant wishes; some say her touch can kill.
Seventeen-year-old Lucas lives on the mainland most of the year but spends summers with his hotel-developer father in Puerto Rico. He's grown up hearing stories about the cursed girl, and he wants to believe in Isabel and her magic. When letters from Isabel begin mysteriously appearing in his room the same day his new girlfriend disappears, Lucas turns to Isabel for answers--and finds himself lured into her strange and enchanted world. But time is running out for the girl filled with poison, and the more entangled Lucas becomes with Isabel, the less certain he is of escaping with his own life.
A Fierce and Subtle Poison beautifully blends magical realism with a page-turning mystery and a dark,  starcrossed romance--all delivered in lush, urgent prose.
"A breathtaking story in which myths come to frightening life and buried wishes might actually come true. This is a hypnotic debut by a remarkable talent." --Nova Ren Suma, author of The Walls Around Us and Imaginary Girls  

This story is set in Puerto Rico. The main character is Lucas, a gringo, who spend summers on the island with his dad. A Fierce and Subtle Poison starts right off with the myth of the girl with green skin and grass for hair. She lives at the cursed house at the end […]

26 01, 2016

Review: THE MYSTERY OF HOLLOW PLACES by Rebecca Podos

By | Tuesday, January 26, 2016|5 Comments

Seventeen year old Imogene is being raised by her Father and step-mother, Libby. Her mother walked out when she was two. When she wakes up to find her Father is gone, she tries to figure out what motivated him to leave, where he went, and how to get him back. Imogene is determined […]

6 11, 2015

Review and Guest Post: UNCOVERING COBBOGOTH by Hannah L. Clark

By | Friday, November 6, 2015|10 Comments

Review and Guest Post: UNCOVERING COBBOGOTH by Hannah L. Clark

Uncovering Cobbogoth is based on actual Icelandic mythology. It is fun and fast paced. This book was one part mystery and one part romance in a nice fantastical package. My Review Norah has been raised by her famous archaeologist uncle, Jack, since her parents died when she was just a baby. Jack was […]

13 04, 2015

Review: ASK THE DARK by Henry Turner

By | Monday, April 13, 2015|4 Comments

Review: ASK THE DARK by Henry TurnerAsk the Dark by Henry Turner
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt on April 7th 2015
Pages: 256
Length: 6 hours, 39 minutes
Genres: Action & Adventure, Boys & Men, General, Law & Crime, Mysteries & Detective Stories, Young Adult
ARC provided by Clarion Books, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

AmazonB&NAudibleBook Depository

Ask the Dark will keep you up all night, and its flawed, real hero will haunt your day. I wish I’d written it.” —Michael Grant, New York Times best-selling author of Gone and BZRK

Billy Zeets has a story to tell.

About being a vandal and petty thief. About missing boys and an elusive killer.

And about what happens if a boy who breaks all the rules is the only person who can piece together the truth.

Gripping and powerful, this masterful debut novel comes to vivid life through the unique voice of a hero as unlikely as he is unforgettable.

Ask the Dark is absolutely remarkable. Readers will line up for this one.”—Michael Cart, past president of YALSA and ALAN

Billy is a 14 year old boy who is constantly in trouble. Ask the Dark is his retelling of the ways that he redeemed himself and his family for the whole town to see. This is Billy’s story. This story starts at the end. Billy is some sort of hero for what he […]

Load More Posts