30 11, 2016

Review: OF FIRE AND STARS by Audrey Coulthurst

By | Wednesday, November 30, 2016|7 Comments

Review: OF FIRE AND STARS by Audrey CoulthurstOf Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst
Published by HarperCollins on November 22nd 2016
Pages: 400
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, General, Romance, LGBT
eARC provided by Balzer & Bray

AmazonBook Depository

An atmospheric and romantic debut fantasy perfect for fans of Ash and The Winner’s Curse.

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile kingdoms. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire—a dangerous gift for the future queen of a land where magic is forbidden.

Now Denna has to learn the ways of her new kingdom while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria’s formidable warhorses before her coronation—and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine, sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, they discover there is more to one another than they thought—and soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms—and each other.

Look at that cover. It’s gorgeous! Ooh, the synopsis looks good. Yay, diversity in YA! Wait a minute, what is this? Ummm, this book wasn’t what I thought it would be. OF FIRE AND STARS starts off without world building. Immediately, our two protagonists meet. Denna is betrothed to Mare’s brother. Denna has […]

15 11, 2016

Review: TIMEKEEPER by Tara Sim

By | Tuesday, November 15, 2016|12 Comments

Review: TIMEKEEPER by Tara SimTimekeeper by Tara Sim
Series: Timekeeper #1
Published by Skyhorse Publishing, Inc. on November 8th 2016
Pages: 424
Genres: Young Adult, Steampunk, LGBT, Fantasy & Magic
eARC provided by Skypony Press

AmazonBook Depository

Two o’clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.
It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.
But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

TIMEKEEPER was such a magical read. This story is about a 17 year old clock mechanic named Danny. He is a bit young, but he is also really talented. Three years ago, Danny’s father, also a clock mechanic, got caught in a town where time stopped. He hasn’t see him since. Two years […]

28 09, 2016

Review: LAST SEEN LEAVING by Caleb Roehrig

By | Wednesday, September 28, 2016|10 Comments

Review: LAST SEEN LEAVING by Caleb RoehrigLast Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig
Published by Feiwel & Friends on October 4th 2016
Pages: 336
Genres: Contemporary, LGBT, Mystery, Young Adult
eARC provided by Macmillan

AmazonBook Depository

Flynn's girlfriend has disappeared. How can he uncover her secrets without revealing his own?

Flynn's girlfriend, January, is missing. The cops are asking questions he can't answer, and her friends are telling stories that don't add up. All eyes are on Flynn—as January's boyfriend, he must know something.

But Flynn has a secret of his own. And as he struggles to uncover the truth about January's disappearance, he must also face the truth about himself.

Oh this book! I am scratching my head that more people aren’t talking about it. It is so good! I admit it started off slow. In fact at first I didn’t think I liked the characters very much. I kept reading though and slowly I found myself thinking a lot about Flynn, wondering […]

9 09, 2016

Review and Giveaway: LABYRINTH LOST by Zoraida Córdova

By | Friday, September 9, 2016|8 Comments

Review and Giveaway: LABYRINTH LOST by Zoraida CórdovaLabyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova
Series: Brooklyn Brujas #1
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on September 1st 2016
Pages: 336
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, LGBT, Paranormal, Supernatural, Young Adult Fiction
ARC provided by BEA 2016, Sourcebooks Fire

AmazonBook Depository

"Enchanting and complex. Every page is filled with magic." --Danielle Paige, New York Times best-selling author of Dorothy Must Die
Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.
Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation...and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can't trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange marks on his skin.
The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland...
Praise for Labyrinth Lost:
"Zoraida Córdova's prose enchants from start to finish. Labyrinth Lost is pure magic." --Melissa Grey, author of The Girl at Midnight
"Magical and empowering, Labyrinth Lost is an incredible heroine's journey filled with mythos come to life; but at its heart, honors the importance of love and family." --Cindy Pon, author of Serpentine and Silver Phoenix
"A brilliant brown-girl-in-Brooklyn update on Alice in Wonderland and Dante's Inferno. Very creepy, very magical, very necessary."--Daniel Jose Older, author of Shadowshaper
"Labyrinth Lost is a magical story of love, family, and finding yourself. Enchanting from start to finish." --Amy Tintera, author of Ruined.

LABYRINTH LOST was such a fun story! First, I want to acknowledge a book with a bunch of diversity done right. There was a heroine not so sure of herself, a bad boy and a conflicting girl-crush all wrapped up in a fantastical adventure full of magic. This book had my attention right […]

Load More Posts