Julia Pierpont is the author of Among the Ten Thousand Things, her debut novel. She is a graduate of Barnard College and the M.F.A. program at N.Y.U., where she was a Rona Jaffe Graduate Fellow. She lives in Brooklyn with her lunatic dog, Dash.

10 07, 2015

AMONG TEN THOUSAND THINGS by Julia Pierpont

By | Friday, July 10, 2015|3 Comments

AMONG TEN THOUSAND THINGS by Julia PierpontAmong the Ten Thousand Things by Julia Pierpont
Published by Random House on July 7th 2015
Pages: 336
Length: 18 hours and 12 minutes
Genres: Fiction, Literary, Coming of Age, Family Life
eARC provided by Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley

AmazonB&NAudibleBook Depository

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.  

Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn't mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack's secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it's delivered into the wrong hands: her children's.
 
With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can't possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life--their brittleness, and their resilience.

Among ten Thousand Things is a book about a modern family in crisis. It starts off really great but after section one my interest waned and I struggled to finish this book. With alternating POVs and a confusing timeline this book was a hard read. Deb was given a package meant for her […]

Load More Posts