Review: TIMEKEEPER by Tara SimTimekeeper by Tara Sim
Series: Timekeeper #1
Published by Skyhorse Publishing, Inc. on November 8th 2016
Pages: 424
Genres: Young Adult, Steampunk, LGBT, Fantasy & Magic
eARC provided by Skypony Press

AmazonBook Depository

Two o’clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.
It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.
But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

TIMEKEEPER was such a magical read. This story is about a 17 year old clock mechanic named Danny. He is a bit young, but he is also really talented. Three years ago, Danny’s father, also a clock mechanic, got caught in a town where time stopped. He hasn’t see him since. Two years after that Danny was repairing a clock when a bomb went off leaving Danny a bit afraid of clocks. Now well on his way to recovery, Danny encounters a clock spirit he mistakes for his apprentice. As Danny gets closer to Colton he realizes this is what he has been looking for. Loving a clock spirit is forbidden, but Danny can’t help himself.

This story is set in Victorian England. Telephones don’t exist and autos are a new technology afforded only by some. In this place homosexuality is not outlawed, but it is still looked down upon by some. In this story, Danny’s own mother is a naysayer. Danny prefers “blokes” and finds himself a bit ostracized not due to his sexual preference, but because of prejudice within the time keeper society that keeps him from working on the tower that might save his father. This is all Danny wants, until he meets Colton and things gets really muddled. Danny and Colton were a magical combination.

In this reality, time needs help from the people to keep it going. A true clock mechanic can feel time and set it right when things go wrong. This place has a whole set of myths and legends that the people believe. Every town has clock and every clock has a spirit, but not everyone believes that. Danny’s mentor is a friend who once fell in love with a clock spirit, but Danny doesn’t really believe in them. Until he meets one of his own and falls in love.

There is so much more to this story, and I would love to go on and on about this world, but that would be giving everything away. This story has one small flaw. It jumps around a bit and I felt like “how we got here” could have been expanded upon at times. Even with that going on, this was a splendid one day read for me. TIMEKEEPER is the start of a trilogy that I can’t wait to read more of.

My Rating

kiss4

About Tara Sim

Tara Sim is a YA author found in the wilds of the Bay Area, California. When she's not writing about magic, clocks, and boys, she drinks tea, wrangles cats, and sings opera.

Tara grew up in California, but braved the elements of Virginia to study English/Creative Writing at Hollins University.

Half-Indian and full geek, she eats too many samosas and awkwardly dances to Bhangra music.

TIMEKEEPER (Sky Pony Press, Fall '16) is her debut YA novel.

I received this product free of charge in exchange for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links. This review is in compliance with the FTC guidelines.

Awesome People Share. Be Awesome...
Get KBK in Your Inbox
Subscribe Now to receive your FREE Guide to Requesting ARCs and Publisher Contact List