What if the protagonist you come to root for in a story ends up really being the bad guy? That is the basic problem with The Girl With No Past. I got so invested in this story, that I rooted for her anyways.

Review: THE GIRL WITH NO PAST by Kathryn CroftThe Girl With No Past by Kathryn Croft
Published by Bookouture on October 15, 2015
Pages: 300
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Psychological, Thrillers & Suspense
Also by this author: The Girl You Lost
eARC provided by Copy provided by publisher via NetGalley

AmazonB&NAudibleBook Depository

Twenty years running from your past. Today it catches up.

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

Leah Mills lives a life of a fugitive – kept on the run by one terrible day from her past. It is a lonely life, without a social life or friends until – longing for a connection – she meets Julian. For the first time she dares to believe she can live a normal life.

Then, on the twentieth anniversary of that day, she receives a card. Someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed the life Leah has created.

But is Leah all she seems? Or does she deserve everything she gets?

Everyone has secrets. But some are deadly.

In an effort to keep the big spoiler to myself, I keep this review short.

The major flaw in this story is the protagonists character. I was not sure if the protagonist was like able for 90% of this tale. Our protagonist, Leah, is withdrawn, afraid, and now being stalked. In the beginning I thought she might have had a mental illness, but no she is just a girl with a really haunted past. It is so bad that everyone except her Mother turns away as soon as they hear what she has done. What did she do?

Poor Leah. She knows she doesn’t deserve anything good, so she keeps to herself and doesn’t expect much from people. This story follows Leah as she tries to build a life for herself. All she does is work and then go home to her crappy apartment to read or get online. But then something good is finally happening for Leah, it isn’t even that great, just the tiniest of sparks in a dull existence, and she goes for it. It is then that the threats start and the stalker makes a move to ruin everything for Leah.

This book has great character development and moves at an excellent pace. I enjoyed getting to know Leah. This story is written in only Leah’s POV so we are really in her head as she struggles with her insecurity and tries to keep her true identity a secret. We also get whole sections laying out the events that led up to the big event that changed her life forever. It is not all at once. Reading the story of her teenage self, I thought things were progressing pretty normally.

Honestly, I have never been so in the dark about a character. The secret about her past kept me reading this book, and I finished this story in one day. I was on the edge of my seat wondering what she could have done, so I just couldn’t put it down. Although I did figure out one certain character’s motivations early on, it was this big secret that kept me hooked until the amazing ending.

I will definitely be keeping an eye out for more from this author. This was an excellent read. I highly recommend this psychological thriller.

My Rating

5kisses

About Kathryn Croft

Kathryn is always seeking new challenges and has had a wide and varied career before writing her first novel. After gaining a BA Honours Degree in Media Arts with English Literature, she worked in human resources and management training. But it wasn’t long before her passion for literature led her to train as a teacher and study for a Post Graduate Certificate in Education. She then spent six years teaching secondary school English; a job she believes was invaluable to her writing career.
Kathryn now devotes all her time to writing and is currently working on her fifth novel.
Having always been an avid reader, Kathryn believes in the power of words to entertain, teach and transform lives. Now that she has achieved the dream she has held onto since childhood – to write a full-length novel – her new goal is to be as successful as the bestselling authors she admires. She firmly believes anything is possible if you work hard enough and never give up!
Kathryn lives in Guildford, Surrey with her husband and two cats, Aphrodite and Isis.

I received this product free of charge in exchange for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links. This review is in compliance with the FTC guidelines.

Awesome People Share. Be Awesome...
Get KBK in Your Inbox
Subscribe Now to receive your FREE Guide to Requesting ARCs and Publisher Contact List