Review: THE MURDER GAME by (Julie Apple) Catherine McKenzieThe Murder Game by Catherine McKenzie, Julie Apple
Published by Lawsome Books on November 1, 2016
Pages: 340
Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Suspense
Also by this author: Fractured
eARC

Amazon

For fans of The Secret History and How to Get Away With Murder comes an exciting new voice in suspense fiction.

Ten years working as a prosecutor have left Meredith Delay jaded and unsure of what she wants out of life. She’s good at her job, but it haunts her. Her boyfriend wants her to commit, but she keeps him at arm’s length. Then Meredith is assigned to a high-profile prosecution involving the violent murder of a fallen hockey star. At first, it appears to be just another case to work. But when her old friend Julian is accused of the murder, it takes on a whole new dimension.

Meredith, Julian, Jonathan, and Lily were a tight-knit group in law school. But now, Jonathan’s defending Julian, and Lily’s loyalties aren’t clear. And when Julian invokes a rare—and risky—defence, Meredith is forced to confront their past.

Has something they played at as students finally been brought to death?

Reading time 2 mins

This is such a fun idea! This book is written by the main character in Catherine McKenzie’s book FRACTURED. THE MURDER GAME is semi fictional account of a woman in law school and then ten years later that same woman called to prosecute a man she used to know. The defense attorney is her ex lover, the man accused is her ex lover’s best friend. In dual timelines we learn how Meredith knew Julian, the man who is now accused of murder. This story is semi fiction and written by a semi fictional character.

I found this story a pretty good page turner. The idea is solid and the twist is detailed enough to leave me a bit enraged. In the prologue we see Meredith trying to some to terms with what happened. The whole book is Meredith recounting her story for the reader to judge. One again, I think the author wants you to judge her and her friends. They aren’t exactly bad people, but they aren’t good people either. From the very beginning we follow Meredith as she is courted by Jonathan and her friendship with Lily blooms.

The nagging sense that something is wrong isn’t obvious. Meredith shouldn’t be trying this case, she is too close to accused to be fair and impartial. That becomes clearly irrelevant as Meredith puts her life on hold to try the case. If she looses, her career won’t ever be the same. I felt bad for Meredith being put in this situation. I found my anger was misplaced as everything that happens, happens for a reason.

Most of present day Meredith’s story takes place in a courtroom. I found the witness’ testimony riveting since I got the first hand thoughts of Meredith as they answered questions. In law school Meredith takes us into classroom and dishes out what competing with peers would be like. There is also the matter of a case so similar to what she is facing now that it lends the reader to think the case is not a coincidence.

I can’t say anything else about the plot for this book. I will admit that Meredith wasn’t an easy character to like. She is disillusioned in her present day life as a prosecutor and she allows herself to be used as a student in law school. I was torn on which Meredith to root for. This was a great story, but Meredith’s story isn’t quite as addictive as Julie’s was. I would still recommend this book to mystery/suspense fans.

My Rating

kiss4

About Julie Apple

Hey folks, it’s Julie Apple. Maybe you noticed when you were reading or browsing the cover of The Murder Game, that I’m the pseudonym for another writer, Catherine McKenzie. But I’m more than that—I’m one of the protagonists in her latest novel, Fractured.
How did that happen?
A long time ago in a galaxy far far away (okay it was Canada, Montreal specifically) (also, 2007), Catherine decided to write a novel she’d been thinking about since she attended McGill Law School in the 1990s. Sitting in her Criminal Law class, she wondered if a lawyer would have an advantage in planning a perfect murder. Could she use her knowledge of the law to do it? What if a group of friends tried it out, just for fun? A game.
But then, years later, what if that murder actually happened?
Catherine wrote that book. Though she was happy with it, she put it in a drawer because her writing career took a different turn.
Fast-forward to 2015. Catherine gets the idea for Fractured and its protagonist, Julie Apple (hey, that’s me!). She’s an author who’s written a book that’s drawn all kinds of unwanted attention to her and her past. Catherine decided to base Julie’s book on the book she had in a drawer. When Fractured was finished, Catherine thought it might be fun to take that book of the drawer and let it out in the world.
And that’s how I, and The Murder Game, was born.
Want to know more about me? Read Fractured—some crazy things happened to me ten years after the events that took place in The Murder Game. Not that The Murder Game is based on real events, or anything. Of course not.

And then maybe you’ll know the answer.

Were we guilty?
Were we innocent?
You tell me…

About Catherine McKenzie

A graduate of McGill University in History and Law, Catherine practises law in Montreal, where she was born and raised. Catherine's novels, SPIN, ARRANGED, FORGOTTEN, HIDDEN and SMOKE, are all international bestsellers and have been translated into numerous languages, including French, German, Portuguese, Polish, Turkish, Slovakian and Czech. HIDDEN was also a #1 Amazon bestseller and a Digital Bookworld bestseller for five weeks. SMOKE was named one of the Top 100 Books in 2015 by Amazon and one of the Best Books of October by Goodreads, and was an Amazon bestseller.
ARRANGED has been optioned for film, and SPIN has been optioned for a television series. A short film of ARRANGED was made in 2014 and won a Canadian National Screen Institute Award. Catherine was on set while they filmed it. It was one of the cooler experiences of her life.
Catherine’s sixth novel, FRACTURED, was published by Lake Union on October 4, 2016.
An avid skier and runner, Catherine climbed the Grand Teton in 2014.
And if you want to know how she has time to do all that, the answer is: robots.

I received this product free of charge in exchange for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links. This review is in compliance with the FTC guidelines.

Subscribe to never miss a post!
Awesome People Share. Be Awesome...