Review: THE GIRL FROM THE SEA by Shalini BolandThe Girl from the Sea by Shalini Boland
Published by Adrenalin Books on June 9th 2016
Pages: 306
Genres: Fiction, Psychological, Thrillers
Also by this author: The Best Friend - a chilling psychological thriller
eARC provided by Adrenalin Books

AmazonBook Depository

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train

A chilling suspense story of wounded hearts and dark secrets.

Washed up on the beach, she can’t remember who she is. She can’t even remember her name. Turns out, she has a perfect life – friends and family eager to fill in the blanks.

But why are they lying to her? What don’t they want her to remember?

When you don't even know who you are, how do you know who to trust?

Somehow this book escaped my radar until it was already published. The good news is that you can just go out and buy for yourself right now. You really should, this book is really good.

When you don’t know yourself, who can you trust? A girl woman is pulled from a beach in Dorset. She doesn’t know who she is, she doesn’t even know what she looks like. She can’t remember how she got there, or why her head is all banged up.  A man claiming to be her boyfriend comes to claim her. He tries to fill in all the blanks about her life for her, but it doesn’t seem real. The only thing she knows is that she likes to row. She also kinda likes the guy who teaches there who seems to know her. Can she reinvent herself or will her true past come to claim her?

This story was really addictive. I do love an unreliable protagonist and this book delivered on that in a big way. When the woman discovers who she is, it’s like she hit the lottery. She has the means to stay home and live a posh life. She has everything available to her. Except for the fact that she isn’t sure her being in the sea was an accident. An accident doesn’t explain the bumps on her head or the nagging feeling that someone is out to get her.

I liked Mia a whole lot. She doesn’t know if she is a good person, or if she is the bitch that people keep telling her she is was. Not only does Mia not know her own self, but she has no idea how she ended up in the sea. I felt like her actions and questions were totally believable. Mia is genuinely in the dark about her whole life and she doesn’t understand why things feel so off. Mia also has no idea how she ended up in the sea. She does exactly what I would do. She investigates things and uses her gut to tell her how to proceed.

This was an absolute page turner. I had to find out how Mia ended up in the sea. I devoured this book in almost one sitting. I was not disappointing at all with the ending and what Mia discovered. This was an excellent thriller. This is an author I am going to keep on my radar.

My Rating

kiss5

About Shalini Boland

4727364Shalini Boland lives in Dorset, England with her husband and two noisy boys. Before kids, she was signed to Universal Music Publishing as a singer/songwriter, but now she spends her days writing suspense thrillers and dark adventures (in between doing the school run and hanging out endless baskets of laundry).

I received this product free of charge in exchange for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links. This review is in compliance with the FTC guidelines.

Awesome People Share. Be Awesome...
Get KBK in Your Inbox
Subscribe Now to receive your FREE Guide to Requesting ARCs and Publisher Contact List