Review: BABY DOLL by Hollie OvertonBaby Doll by Hollie Overton
Published by Orbit, Redhook on July 12th 2016
Pages: 288
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Psychological, Suspense
ARC provided by BEA 2016, Redhook

AmazonBook Depository

"What a compulsive read! A brilliant first novel that kept me transfixed and entertained until the very last page." -- Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of Die Again
Escape was just the beginning. Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.This is what happens next... to Lily, to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter -- and to her captor.
For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, BABY DOLL is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

Lily was abducted when she was 16 by a prominent man in the community. He held her for 8 years, raped and abused her and fathered a child with her. One day he forgets to bolt the door and Lily escapes with her daughter. This is the story Lily getting back to her life after being held in captivity for 8 years. The story begins with her escape, and includes the reunion with her family and the POV of her twin sister Abby. This story also includes the POV of her captor, Rick, who is a monster. This is the story of how far people will go for the ones they love.

I finished this book in one day. I started off listening to it between calls at work, and then I came home and devoured the rest of it. This is not a book I could put down, I had to see what would happen to Rick, Lily, and Abby. This story had me really contemplating the girls who were freed from their capture a few years ago in real life. Getting back to reality after being held captive would be exhilarating and terrifying.  I really loved that this book wasn’t about her ordeal, it was about how she got her life back.

Pros:

  • Story starts off tense and kept my attention
  • Mother and sister’s reaction to having her home were pretty believable
  • I was glad this book didn’t focus too much on what actually happened to Lily
  • I liked seeing the twin girls get to know each other again
  • The portrayal of the press wanting every little detail was a nice touch
  • Lily explaining everything to her daughter Sky, who has spent 6 years in a room, was interesting

Cons:

  • None of the characters had much depth
  • There was a lot of inner dialogue that was unnecessary, in my opinion
  • I probably could have done without Rick’s POV all together
  • Mom’s sleeping around, and the cop being distracted by mom and their affair, did nothing for the story
  • I don’t know how realistic this book was to how victims recover from something like what Lily went through
  • Abby is pregnant throughout most of this story as well, so her hormones are all over the place, she looked and acted crazy

I am really torn on how to rate this. As you can see it has equal pros and cons. It was a captivating story and dealt with really touchy subject matter. This book went in a direction I didn’t expect, thanks to the synopsis comparing it to books that had no similarity. I still mostly enjoyed reading this and would recommend it to thriller fans who don’t mind some extra dialogue.

My Rating

kiss3

About Hollie Overton

hovertonDebut author Hollie Overton was raised by her single mother, and Hollie — an identical twin herself — draws on her unique childhood experiences for her first novel, Baby Doll. Overton's father was a member of the notorious Overton gang in Austin, Texas, and spent several years in prison for manslaughter. Hollie is a television writer and resides in Los Angeles.

I received this product free of charge in exchange for an honest review. This post contains affiliate links. This review is in compliance with the FTC guidelines.

Awesome People Share. Be Awesome...
Get KBK in Your Inbox
Subscribe Now to receive your FREE Guide to Requesting ARCs and Publisher Contact List