I know DNFs are a touchy subject. Some do it, some don’t. I do it and then I talk about it.

I am not proud of my DNFing habit. Some books just don’t deserve my attention. Life is too short for bad reads. This post is full of books I DNF’d.

Here are the most recent books that failed to grab and/or keep my attention…

 

Books I Quit Trying to LikeThe Marked Girl by Lindsey Klingele
Published by HarperCollins on June 7th 2016
Pages: 400
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, General, Royalty, Action & Adventure
eARC provided by HarperCollins

Worlds collide in Lindsey Klingele’s debut young adult novel, The Marked Girl, an exciting fantasy tale turned upside down. Elissa Sussman, author of Stray, calls The Marked Girl “a magical debut with a big heart.”
When Cedric, crowned prince of Caelum, and his fellow royal friends (including his betrothed, Kat) find themselves stranded in modern-day LA via a magical portal and an evil traitor named Malquin, all they want to do is get home to Caelum—soon. Then they meet Liv, a filmmaker foster girl who just wants to get out of the system and on with her life. As she and Cedric bond, they’ll discover that she’s more connected to his world than they ever could’ve imagined…and that finding home is no easy task.
The Marked Girl has humor, heart, and harrowing adventures, perfect for fantasy lovers and reluctant fantasy readers alike.

This is one of those books that did not deserve the hype it got. I don’t know how many of you watch BookTube, but the most popular YA Booktubers made the official trailer for this one. So it got a lot of hype. I even admit to being excited about it, (okay admittedly I got the book before I saw the trailer. the trailer was pretty stupid). Unfortunately it was a very immature story. This is about some alien teens that find a very *special* girl, Liv, on earth, in modern L.A. I don’t like fantasy set in modern times. Also, I didn’t buy the specialness of Liv.


 

Books I Quit Trying to LikeFrannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup
Published by HarperCollins on May 31st 2016
Pages: 320
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, LGBT, Social Themes, Friendship, Family, General
eARC provided by HarperCollins

“Absorbing, electrifying, and achingly relatable. Frannie and Tru is a book with a pulse.” —Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Perfect for fans of Prep and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Frannie and Tru is a dazzling YA debut about a transformative summer in the life of a girl whose idol is not what he seems.
Frannie has always idolized her cousin Tru. At seventeen, Tru is charismatic, rich, charming—everything fifteen-year-old Frannie wants to be, and everything she’s not. So when Frannie overhears her parents saying that after a bad coming-out experience Tru will be staying with them in Baltimore for the summer, Frannie is excited and desperate to impress him. But as Frannie gets swept up in Tru’s worldly way of life, she starts to worry that it may all be a mask Tru wears to hide a dark secret. And if Tru isn’t the person Frannie thought he was, what does that mean for the new life she has built with him?
Confronting issues of race, class, and sexuality, Karen Hattrup weaves a powerful coming-of-age story that’s at once timeless and immediate, sharply observed, and recognizable to anyone who has ever loved the idea of a person more than the reality.

This story was told by Fannie, a girl who is starting public school after being in Catholic school her whole life. Her homosexual cousin Tru comes to stay with the family (because his own parents couldn’t handle it) and Frannie becomes obsessed with him. Tru is all Frannie thinks about. I hated this obsession she had with him. Frannie doesn’t think much of herself and I found this boring. Frannie has no issues with Tru being gay, she just finds him so interesting. I got about 1/2 way through this book and realized I didn’t care to hear about the social gatherings of these two anymore.


 

Books I Quit Trying to LikeTraitor Angels by Anne Blankman
Published by HarperCollins on May 3rd 2016
Pages: 400
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Historical, Renaissance, Action & Adventure, General, Romance
eARC provided by HarperCollins

A romantic and exhilarating historical adventure about a girl who must unlock the secrets within Paradise Lost to save her father—perfect for fans of Revolution and Code Name Verity—from acclaimed author Anne Blankman, whose debut novel, Prisoner of Night and Fog, was a Sydney Taylor Notable Book for Teens in 2015
Six years have passed since England’s King Charles II returned from exile to reclaim the throne, ushering in a new era of stability for his subjects.
Except for Elizabeth Milton. The daughter of notorious poet John Milton, Elizabeth has never known her place in this shifting world—except by her father’s side. By day she helps transcribe his latest masterpiece, the epic poem Paradise Lost, and by night she learns languages and sword fighting. Although she does not dare object, she suspects that he’s training her for a mission whose purpose she cannot fathom.
Until one night the king’s men arrive at her family’s country home to arrest her father. Determined to save him, Elizabeth follows his one cryptic clue and journeys to Oxford, accompanied by her father’s mysterious young houseguest, Antonio Viviani, a darkly handsome Italian scientist who surprises her at every turn. Funny, brilliant, and passionate, Antonio seems just as determined to protect her father as she is—but can she trust him with her heart?
When the two discover that Milton has planted an explosive secret in the half-finished Paradise Lost—a secret the king and his aristocratic supporters are desperate to conceal—Elizabeth is faced with a devastating choice: cling to the shelter of her old life, or risk cracking the code, unleashing a secret that could save her father . . . and tear apart the very fabric of society.

One word for this book, B O R I N G. It was a snore fest from the first chapter. I tried to like this, believe me. There was way too much descriptions. There was also a bit of backstory and not much going forward. The female heroine, Elizabeth, failed to be realistic for the time period (1600s). She is bad-ass at EVERYTHING and when she scolds people for not thinking a girl can do anything a man can, people nod and agree. This is far from realistic. Between belive-ability and boring descriptions I put this down around 30%.


 

Books I Quit Trying to LikeNevernight by Jay Kristoff
Published by Macmillan on August 9th 2016
Pages: 448
Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Epic, Historical, Science Fiction, Steampunk
Also by this author: Illuminae, Gemina
eARC provided by Thomas Dunne Books

Nevernight is the first in an epic new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author, Jay Kristoff.
In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.
Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.
Now, a sixteen year old Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic — the Red Church. Treachery and trials await her with the Church’s halls, and to fail is to die. But if she survives to initiation, Mia will be inducted among the chosen of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the only thing she desires.
Revenge.

Oh, I know what are thinking right now, “Karen, we can’t even be virtual friends anymore because this is THEE book of 2016. Your taste is wack!
Please allow me to explain…
This is adult fantasy set in a different world, a world with 3 suns….hence the Nevernight. I found the writing really dark and hard to follow. There was some witty banter, but it took a lot of describing to get to. This is a style of descriptive writing that I feel takes away from the story. I don’t like the snarky way this is written. There were a lot of flashbacks. I hated them! Also, what the hell was the deal with the cat? There is much describing of the cat in every chapter. I also didn’t understand why the footnotes were necessary. Did they have anything to do with the story itself? No, they were just more fluff to add pages of descriptive text to this already descriptive story. I put this book down after just 6 chapters. I might try to pick it up again when I am in the mood for a destructive protagonist who is in training. I don’t think that will happen anytime soon though.


So those are the books I quit trying to like recently. Do you DNF? If so, what was your most recent DNF? Do you agree with any of my DNFs? Are we still friends?

Awesome People Share. Be Awesome...
Get KBK in Your Inbox
Subscribe Now to receive your FREE Guide to Requesting ARCs and Publisher Contact List